•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Wavelet explanation

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 Alex McConahay

Alex McConahay

Fly Me to the Moon

• topic starter

Posted 12 October 2009 - 09:31 PM

I'm just a beginner in solar system photography with a video based system.

I am using Registax 5.

I cannot find a good description of what wavelets are and how they work.

I have found people who say "Use only level two and three." And one that says "Use a bell shaped curve on them." And more than a dozen that say "Use what works best and looks good."

Can anybody point me to a source for how these things work. Do you start with the sixth slider and come down? Or do you do level one and move up? And why?

PS....I can find nothing worthwhile using the search function here in CN.

Alex

#2 orenabah

orenabah

Ranger 4

• -----

Posted 13 October 2009 - 01:16 AM

There is no "concrete explanation". You need to use trial and error. The wavelets can always be dragged backwards if you overdo it or don't like what you see.

Sometimes they don't need much adjustment, and other times I shove all six to the far right. It really varies, depending on the object you're imaging and how good the data is.

In a nutshell: It's all trial and error.

#3 LeedsGreen

LeedsGreen

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 13 October 2009 - 07:23 AM

Hi Alex,

In the large, I think Paul is correct, it really is trial and error. However, as a rule I start with wavelet levels 3 and 4 and push those up to 10 to see what happens. Depending on results, I then decide if "Initial Layer (IL)" setting should remain at 1 or go up to 2, 3 or even 4. I have noticed there really is no rule for which IL I use and this can vary even on the same camera/web-cam used on the same night.