•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

I'm a beginner who needs help choosing a binocular

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 04 December 2003 - 01:09 AM

I just started getting serious about astronomy a couple of weeks ago. I don't have a telescope, and at this point don't intend to for around one year. I started with a pair of oberwerk 22x100mm binoculars. I veiw them as the best binoculars I could possibly buy at a reasonable price (If I'm wrong please let me know). I had already known that a 7-10x50mm or similer binocular would be the best way to start, but I wanted to have more fun. Even so I decided I might like to have a 'hand-holdable' pair. Since I was on a budget I thought I would buy a bigger pair than everyone else and be better off than people who spend $500 on a good 50mm pair. I had already been looking at the Oberwerk 15x70mm and these seemed to be just about the max possible holdable binoculars. They haven't arrived quite yet, but I already think I should get a third pair. This time I want to go with the classic size of 7-10x50mm. It seems that the best pair possible of 7x50mm binoculars is the Fujinon Polaris 7x50mm.

As I'm just a bigginer, I'm not too great at estimating sky magnitudes, but I would say mine are a little over 5 with my eyesight, and I expect to improve. I know that a slightly higher magnification would probably be better, but I figure that's what I have with my 15x70mm. I want to have the best available. I'm 17, so I think the big exit pupil size will be good, and even if I don't always take full advantage of it, it will be nice to have the 'best' for use under very dark skies. Plus the wider FoV is helpful.