•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron 25x100mm unbiased thoughts

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 Glassthrower

Glassthrower

Vendor - Galactic Stone & Ironworks

• Vendors
  • topic starter

Posted 21 April 2005 - 09:47 AM

I have owned a pair of 15x70mm Celestron Skymasters for about 6 months, and recently I added a pair of 25x100mm Skymasters to my collection. My expectations for these new giant binocs were high. So now that I have them and have used them on two clear nights, what's the verdict?

I'm no expert in the field and I cannot begin to touch the masterful review written by Edz http://www.cloudynig...5/o/all/fpart/1, but I can add some things that I have noticed.

1) The fit and finish on the 25x100's leaves a little to be desired. Everything Edz said about the integrated mount is correct. The center bar wiggles a bit no matter how hard you tighten it. It also would have been nice if Celestron had included some kind of tripod-mount shoe or flanged mounting plate instead of the little knurled knob with a threaded hole in the bottom.

2) The 15x70's had some really nice rubber armor that I have no complaints about. I had expected that the 25x100's would have the same skin. Wrong. What you get is the standard covering ("skin") that all cheap binocs have. Supposedly they are "waterproof" but I would not want to test this, as some of the seams on the skin are not 100% tight. For the money I spent, I would have preferred the look, feel, and shock-absorbency of rubber.