•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Newbie ? ... is it the binoculars or my eyes?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 09 May 2005 - 09:08 AM

I need some help to understand what I am seeing …
I just received a set of Celestron Skymaster 15x70 bins. They arrived and were somewhat out of collimation, so I did adjust the collimation. I am viewing from an area with moderate light pollution. I have the bins mounted on a good tripod. I am a Professional photographer, so I am accustom to looking through very good optics and have good visual acuity. I should also mention that I enough astigmatism to make opticians grimace when they read my prescription, so I must wear corrective lenses while viewing!

Once the collimation was corrected, the Skymaster’s performed very well for terrestrial viewing. When I finally got a clear night, I took a look at Jupiter … what I saw was gull wings with a lot of color fringe! However, if I changed the placement of my eyes relative to the oculars, I could get Jupiter to become a reasonable sphere with some expected color fringe.

Am I seeing the results of inexpensive (cheap) bins?
Do I just have a bad pair?
Is it still a collimation issue?
Will a bin with FMC improve the situation?
or …

Given the amount of astigmatism that I have, should I expect this type of performance from any binocular that I choose?

#2 EdZ

EdZ

Professor EdZ

Posted 09 May 2005 - 09:13 AM

When I finally got a clear night, I took a look at Jupiter … what I saw was gull wings with a lot of color fringe! However, if I changed the placement of my eyes relative to the oculars, I could get Jupiter to become a reasonable sphere with some expected color fringe.