•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Acrylic and Polycarbonate Achromatic Lens?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

#1 Jason H.

Jason H.

Surveyor 1

• topic starter

Posted 23 September 2011 - 01:44 PM

Hi, I'm a relative newbie to optics (with several failed explorations and some on the back burner) and just pondering the following lens combination:

Acrylic - index of refraction (n) = 1.49-1.492 (589nm??)
Polystyrene - n = 1.49 at 589nm
Polycarbonate - n = 1.584 - 1.586

Seems from a novices perspective that one could use an acrylic and Polycarbonate combination (with a similar spread to crown and flint glass) to make an achromatic lens (at least with better color-focus correction than these substances would have alone.)

Has anybody here seen the refractive indices for other frequencies of light for these plastics? (i.e. green, red blue etc.)

Has anybody seen something like an Abbe V-number's run on these plastics?

Could one use the lensmaker's formula in a straight forward calculation on these materials? (or is there some other fudge factor like hazing, polarization, double-refraction or other weird color effects that throw a wrench in the works?)

I'd love to do an experiment on this if it seems that I'm not re-inventing the wheel (which I'd imagine I would be considering how long these materials have been around.)

Any tips would be highly appreciated!!!!

Jason W. Higley

#2 Mike I. Jones

Mike I. Jones

Aurora

Posted 23 September 2011 - 06:38 PM

Acrylic and polycarbonate can theoretically form an achromatic, coma-corrected pair. Three things about plastic make them unsuitable to barely suitable for precision optics applications, though:

1. The index homogeneity of plastics is typically poor, about like making a lens out of Pyrex.