•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Burgess Optical Binos

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
17 replies to this topic

#1 Mike Moffatt

Mike Moffatt

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 July 2005 - 07:39 PM

Hello, I am new to Cloudy Nights and astronomy. I joined just today after finding some discussion on the Burgess 12x70 binos. I had the opportunity to look through one at the Tulsa Astronomy Club observation site and was very impressed. (I am a beginner and easily impressed). I have a 6" dob I built and after becoming Messier crazy and looking through the Burgess 15x70s had to have some. Anyway, I wanted to buy a pair but had to go out of the country about 6 months ago and came back to find they were discontinued. After searching all over trying to find a supplier with some still in stock I got smart and called Burgess direct. Good news.

They are bringing them back with improvements, said they will be able to ship by the end of August. They will have a different name which has not been decided yet. Will offer them in 70, 80, 90 and 100mm. They have replaced the prism holder with one of Burgess design to make them tougher and hold collimation better. The eye pieces are improved to correct aberation and they will come with a hard case. All that and a decrease in price to $89.00.

They will also be offering 12x60s for an easier manual hold.

Anyway, I can't wait and thought I'd share the news if anyone was looking for some like me and was getting dissapointed.

#2 Mike Moffatt

Mike Moffatt

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 July 2005 - 07:40 PM

Oops, I meant 15x70 binos.

#3 Carpe Noctum

Carpe Noctum

Surveyor 1

Posted 13 July 2005 - 07:54 PM

Welcome to CN, Mike. This is a FANTASTIC community for information, insight and a few laughs for newbies like us.