•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Maks as grab'n'go

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
48 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 August 2005 - 07:55 PM

Hi all!

I'm new to astronomy, and I'm still making some decisions concerning buying telescopes. I once had a 4.5" Newt, but I sold it because I found too bulky. Having decided that I will get 2 telescopes, one light for grab-and-go, mounted on a Altazimuth mount, and heavier one (like a 127 or 150 Mak on a Skyview Pro mount), I'm now thinking about what would be best for my SMALL, LIGHT, grab'n'go scope.

Right now, I'm seriously considering the ShortTube 80 because it is inexpensive, small and has a wide field of view.

I was wondering if a Mak 90mm would be a good buy for this application? I know that they have loooong focal lengths, so they are not suitable for wide field observations out of the box, but can I get a wide field by using a "high mm" eyepiece (such as 32mm or 40mm) or even a focal reducer?

My grab'n'go telescope should have a reasonable wide field, but maybe 2 Maks (1 small, 1 big) is not a good setup...

But I also thought that grab'n'go applications usually involve light polluted cities, where the best objects to observe are bright planets and stars/moon, so the Maks get an edge due to the absence of achromatic aberrations (I'm not considering APOs right now). Ideas/experiences? Do I get lots of vignetting using 32mm/40mm eyepieces on a 90mm Mak (such as Orion's)? Or with a cheap focal reducer (ATIK) or both?

#2 Rusty

Rusty

ISS

• In Memoriam

Posted 17 August 2005 - 08:00 PM