•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

iPad vs. Android tablet?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
136 replies to this topic

#1 NHRob

NHRob

Cosmos

• topic starter

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:15 AM

I'm a newbie to the tablet scene myself. I bought my wife a new iPad a month ago and she loves it and I do too. I used to use an iTouch as a portable viewer for star maps, etc but the screen is just too small for me. A tablet is just the right size and I don't need to get into a laptop format.
I could go for an iPad myself but started thinking ... what about an Android tablet? There seems to be a wide selection and prices are better. This would be for web surfing, planetarium SW, pics, viewing movies/TV shows, etc .... both astro and general purpose use.
I am leaning towards an Android tablet just for variety but, not sure. I guess what I don't really know at this point are the tradeoffs.
What are the differences and what would I be giving up in going with an Android vs. an iPad?

#2 simpleisbetter

simpleisbetter

Surveyor 1

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:29 AM

It really it comes down to which YOU prefer Rob...iPhone or Android, iPad or Android Tablet. Personally, even having owned macs and loving them, I prefer the Android OS and its flexibility. Others see things differently. My suggestion is to go to a store with working full-function Android Tablets and play around with one to see which you like best.

#3 NHRob

NHRob

Cosmos

• topic starter

Posted 01 July 2012 - 08:54 AM

I guess I'll have to go to a BB or something and play with one. The iPad is a known quantity and very nice indeed. Still, I wouldn't mind trying something else, especially if I can save a few $$.

#4 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

ISS

Posted 01 July 2012 - 10:35 AM