•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Review: Meade LXD75 6" f/5 Newtonian OTA

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
28 replies to this topic

#1 hottr6

hottr6

Skylab

• topic starter

Posted 11 August 2012 - 02:39 PM

I've not seen any reports on this Chinese-made 'scope in CN. So here goes my mini-review. I'm pretty new to this so be gentle!

Inspection: I was after a RFT grab-n-go to complement my main instruments, and happened upon this used Meade LXD 75 6" f/5 Newtonian OTA. The deal was done and I soon received a Meade box. The 'scope appears to be well made with a lot of heft to it. No doubt the welded tube has something to do with it, and it is nicely painted with a slight pebble texture in a pale cream color. The tube end cap is a solid piece of metal. The split-rings fit well and are easy to use. The finder is very clear and accurate. The focuser is plastic, but looks and feels like alloy and is surprisingly smooth with no backlash, but there is some image-shift. Overall, this is a very attractive OTA. Collimation of the primary was OK, so I did a quick tweak of the secondary using a simple sight-tube. Not bad for surviving USPS.

Optics: I checked out the mirror with a Ronchi grating and it seems pretty good. Parabolic with a very slight turned-down edge, which appears to be the norm in good quality mass-produced mirrors. No other problems stood out, so I expect this mirror to be a good performer. Lots of coma is to be expected, but I am used to that in my f/4.5 with no coma corrector.