•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

CAT Essentials

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
21 replies to this topic

#1 snufus

snufus

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 September 2005 - 11:02 PM

Hi All,

I am about to be become the proud owner of my first CAT; a C11. Because this is my first catadioptric I feel like, and know I am, a complete newb when it comes to knowing what essentials are needed to protect it and to maintain it. Because I am new to the world of CATs I have no idea what is best and worst other than looking at reviews. So if any of you out there would like to lend me some of your CAT expertise on essentials I would be at your attention. :)

I know some items I need will be:

Dew Shield
Lens Brush - for cleaning dust off corrector
Collimation Device - which is best for CATs?
Kendrick Heater?
Upgraded Focuser - Not an essential I know but if you all think the stock one on the C11 could be better let me know.

Other than that I am open to whatever other essentials anyone mentions, I could use some advice on what the best brands are for the above items as well.

Thank you all!

#2 matt

matt

Vendor (Scopemania)

Posted 14 September 2005 - 01:56 AM

Avoid touching that corrector, just like any optical surface anyway.
Have a heater, and perhaps a blowdryer to make sure there is no moisture on the lens when you put the cap back on - dewdrops leave unpretty marks (the impact on viewing is subject to debate, but the ugliness of the marks really get under your skin) and attract dust.

- Get one of those 2" diagonals Astronomics has a special on while it's still time, even if you don't have 2" eyepieces

- get an orion fine focus adapter (it requires a 2" thread, hence the diagonal), it's a very cheap alternative to electric focusers, etc, and works very well.