•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Rank Beginner with his first telescope.

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic

#1 Syzygy

Syzygy

Surveyor 1

• topic starter

Posted 01 February 2004 - 08:47 PM

Hi, folks! I'm a rank beginner in the astronomy world. I spent a night observing last fall with an experienced amateur astronomer and have been smitten ever since. I just ordered my first scope today, a NexStar 130GT. I should have it by this weekend and I can't wait to get out with it!
In the mean time, I hope that there are patient folks here that don't mind dumb questions, because I know I'll have a torrent of them as soon as I start getting out.

John

#2 Matthew E

Matthew E

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 01 February 2004 - 09:07 PM

you will find the most patient folks here :) we are all newbies in our own right!

#3 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----

Posted 01 February 2004 - 10:49 PM

Welcome John. As Matthew said folks are patient here and you will find plenty of help and good advice. I own a 114GT. Check out this web site.
www.nexstarsite.com

#4 Syzygy

Syzygy

Surveyor 1

• topic starter

Posted 01 February 2004 - 11:17 PM

Thanks, Rick. My 130GT can't get here soon enough!

#5 TeamGS

TeamGS

Gemini

Posted 03 February 2004 - 03:52 PM

Welcome to the "Dark Side"!

Why not get a book and start learning the skies beforehand?

Terrence Dickenson's "The Backyard Astronomer's Guide" comes to mind.

You could also check out www.nexstarsite.com and the nexstar and babynexstar Yahoo groups.

Heck, you could even visit Celestron's site and download the 130 manual!

Good Luck!

Gary

#6 Syzygy

Syzygy

Surveyor 1

• topic starter

Posted 03 February 2004 - 06:12 PM

Gary,