•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Darn small Planetary Nebula

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
45 replies to this topic

#1 Fuzzyguy

Fuzzyguy

Viking 1

• topic starter

Posted 06 June 2013 - 03:22 AM

Some dry stable air moved into my backyard this evening after being pretty humid. I looked at a couple of objects including Saturn, M53 and NGC 5053. I moved to Lyra and checked out Vega, Epsilon Lyr and the Ring. Then to the always stunning double Alberio, Beta1 Cyg.

That's when I notice on SkySafari that there was an 11.4 mag planetary nebula just over a degree north of the star 9 Cyg. I've been collecting PNs for about 9 months, so I had to try for this one. I started looking for it before I read the description and when I got to the right area, everything looked stellar. There were a couple of stars that stood out, but nothing looked looked like a PN in the 40mm Plossl. I upped the power to 127X with the 16mm ES and still everything looked stellar. I got my bearings though, and started following patterns and it seemed like the brightest star in the FoV was in the position where PK 064+05.1 should be located.

The air was very stable tonight and seeing had improved to at least 4/5 or better, so I tried the AT 6mm. Finally, the PN looked non stellar. That's when I looked up the information on this Planetary. SkySafari labeled it ARO 11 and lists it's apparent size as 0.2 x 0.2 arcminutes. Isn't that about 12x12 arcseconds? Distance 7800 LY and a diameter of 0.5 LY.

It was bright, and I've read that planetary nebulas can often stand high magnification, so I put the AT 9mm in a 2x barlow and at 444X, it looked more like a PN. I could see a slight blue or cool cast to it. The central star was just a little brighter than the surrounding nebula, but even at 444X, it was pretty small.