Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Bootloader Invalid Pkg: 0080

  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#26 WarmWeatherGuy

WarmWeatherGuy

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4,696
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2011
  • Loc: Las Cruces, NM 32° N, 107° W

Posted 04 August 2013 - 07:13 PM

... and an initial instruction to line up the index marks on the telescope--I don't remember seeing that before).


I think you have the wrong firmware loaded. Apparently there is an option to do GEM or Alt/AZ and it defaults to GEM so if you don't notice you get that. Go back and load it again and look for that option and select the non-default option.

#27 DA53

DA53

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Shoreview, MN

Posted 04 August 2013 - 08:15 PM

Thanks. According to the manual, Alt/Az is the default. Where can I find the right firmware? Here is the source of the software I did download:

http://www.celestron...a=viewdownlo...,7

#28 WarmWeatherGuy

WarmWeatherGuy

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4,696
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2011
  • Loc: Las Cruces, NM 32° N, 107° W

Posted 04 August 2013 - 08:23 PM

CFM is the correct software on your computer. It downloads the firmware from somewhere on the Internet and it can download two different versions depending on a setting you make.

You will need to run the same software just like before but as I understand it there is a drop down menu somewhere (when running CFM) that allows you to select which firmware it gets - to put into your hand controller. Just look for an option somewhere on the CFM screen that allows you to select something other than GEM.

Someone who has done it before told us and I don't remember where but I thought I was told it is somewhere in the upper left part of the screen (I could be wrong).
  • Procyon likes this

#29 DA53

DA53

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Shoreview, MN

Posted 04 August 2013 - 08:42 PM

Something is wrong, as you suggest. When I go to the menu and select "Tracking" and then "Mode," there is no option for "Alt-Az."

#30 WarmWeatherGuy

WarmWeatherGuy

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4,696
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2011
  • Loc: Las Cruces, NM 32° N, 107° W

Posted 04 August 2013 - 08:44 PM

The option will be on the CFM screen, on your computer, when you are about to begin installing the firmware update.

#31 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,489
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 04 August 2013 - 09:22 PM

Drop-down list in upper LH corner. Listed under "Hand Control", then click "Mount Types".

Stan

#32 DA53

DA53

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Shoreview, MN

Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:50 AM

Thanks, but even that won't do it. The default for the installer is indeed
"Alt/Az," but it still loads GEM software. Here are Celestron's instructions (which should be in our "Best of NexStar" thread here on CN).

http://www.celestron...se&_a=viewar...

Following these instructions, I got it to load the right software. You'd think that Celestron would do a better job of making what is needed clear given the tendency of the firmware to corrupt. But if they don't do it, we at least should. Reloading the firmware should not be this hard!
  • Procyon likes this

#33 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5,489
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 05 August 2013 - 09:37 AM

Thanks, but even that won't do it. The default for the installer is indeed
"Alt/Az," but it still loads GEM software. Here are Celestron's instructions (which should be in our "Best of NexStar" thread here on CN).

http://www.celestron...se&_a=viewar...

Following these instructions, I got it to load the right software. You'd think that Celestron would do a better job of making what is needed clear given the tendency of the firmware to corrupt. But if they don't do it, we at least should. Reloading the firmware should not be this hard!


Isn't that what I told you to do???

Stan

#34 DA53

DA53

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Shoreview, MN

Posted 05 August 2013 - 11:39 AM

Sorry, maybe it is indeed. No offense intended.

#35 jeremy9959

jeremy9959

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 18 May 2013
  • Loc: Connecticut

Posted 05 August 2013 - 03:37 PM

Dear All,

Last night I went out to observe at around 11 p.m. in Eastern Connecticut on a beautiful cool evening. First, I realized I'd left the switch on my red dot starpointer on, so the battery was dead; then, I turned on the scope, and instantly got the Bootloader Invalid Pkg: 0080 message.

So I went back inside, downloaded the various pieces of software, and reinstalled the firmware. I even tracked down a new battery. By the time I was done it was after 1 a.m. and my enthusiasm had pretty much died.

On a whim I grabbed my binoculars and went outside. I got a beautiful view of Andromeda through the binoculars, something I've never seen before.

I would never have tried the binocs if the telescope had been working. So something good came of the experience.

I just hope this doesn't become a regular occurrence.

Jeremy
  • Procyon likes this

#36 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • *****
  • Posts: 21,276
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:23 PM

Jeremy,

Re flashing the firmware to fix the Bootloader error is a one time event, not an ongoing fix. If you've done a good firmware update and the problem persists don't waste any more time, get your dealer or Celestron to replace the hand controller.
  • Procyon likes this

#37 rockstarbill

rockstarbill

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9,422
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2013
  • Loc: Snohomish, WA

Posted 06 August 2013 - 02:17 AM

Mark,

I am not sure that is accurate, nor am I sure that it being correct is out of the realm of possibility. I have used my updated AVX hand control nightly for weeks, and tonight when I went out - I got the Bootloader error message. I reflashed and everything went smoothly. I assume something is awry here codewise, rather than a bunch of handsets being garbage.
  • Procyon likes this

#38 WarmWeatherGuy

WarmWeatherGuy

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4,696
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2011
  • Loc: Las Cruces, NM 32° N, 107° W

Posted 06 August 2013 - 07:15 AM

I assume something is awry here codewise, rather than a bunch of handsets being garbage.


I had been successfully using my NexStar 5SE a lot and then one day it failed. I told it to go to Jupiter and it told me that it wasn't high enough. It was almost at zenith. I went to the setting for slew limits and the lower limit, which should have been zero, instead had some funky characters, such as an upside-down question mark. I changed it to zero and then everything worked fine. After that I decided to re-flash my memory.

I suspect that these hand controls are susceptible to getting zapped (static electricity?) and Celestron doesn't know how to fix that. Along with this hypothesis I suspect that Celestron added some kind of checksum test at each bootup to help us know when the memory has been zapped and that this is what causes those bootloader invalid messages on the new NexStar+ hand controllers.

I have no direct knowledge that this may be true, it is just a guess based on the symptoms and reports I've seen on CN. Based on this hypothesis it is possible that you will need to re-flash your hand controller periodically, hopefully not too often.
  • Procyon likes this

#39 DA53

DA53

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2012
  • Loc: Shoreview, MN

Posted 06 August 2013 - 06:00 PM

Hopefully the software you download now is updated and has a fix for the problem. We'll see!

#40 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • *****
  • Posts: 21,276
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 18 March 2015 - 06:23 PM

A hand controller extension cable can sometimes cause all kinds of strange things. When you extend the HC you are extending the internal bus that interconnects the various components of the mount (hand controller, motor controller, a CN16 gps unit, Starsense, wifi on the Evolution, etc.). A long unshielded cable can introduce all kinds of noise on that internal bus. Normally it's either it works or not but I've seen strange intermittent errors with a long extension plugged in.

 

I've also seen strange errors when an Ethernet patch cable is plugged into a mount with a PC port. This occurs when the Ethernet cable is plugged into the mount and not plugged into a PC on the other end. The point is these mounts (which all share very similar hardware) are somewhat susceptible to electrical noise from long external cables.

 

Not sure what would cause the behaviour with the different firmware levels but I could imagine code changes that change timing and such that might make it more or less susceptible to noise.

 

To prove it you'd have to keep the hardware exactly the same and re flash with the older firmware and re test everything.



#41 *skyguy*

*skyguy*

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4,119
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2008
  • Loc: Western New York

Posted 19 March 2015 - 10:07 AM

"Bootloader Invalid Pkg: 0080" error can occur when the power to the scope is momentarily interrupted during the start-up initialization. This problem can usually be traced to the power plug inside the mount that uses a single split-pin post connector. A loose connection can cause a momentary power interruption. The solution is to gently spread the split-pin post to get a tighter connection. Be careful not to break the pin off!



#42 JREnglar

JREnglar

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 94
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2014
  • Loc: North Vancouver, BC, Canada

Posted 19 March 2015 - 08:15 PM

I've had my Nexstar+ 6SE over six months with no error issues.  Just bought a 25' extension for Hand Controller and tried it out.  Running 6SE on 12V battery, HC works fine with telescope, but refused to connect to PC.  I even rebooted PC and still no connect to StarryNightsPro.  Thought maybe 12V battery level was too low, so tried the Celestron AC adapter.  Upon power up, the Handset displayed "Bootloader Error 0080" and telescope was disabled. 

 

I downloaded CFM and reflashed the HC with latest firmware (my version was definitely older).  Powered up 6SE and function was restored.  Oddly, it would now connect to PC using 25' extension HC cable.  Also seems the HC font is much thinner.  Didn't have time to test it out as clouds rolled in. 

 

Perhaps using 25' HC extension requires firmware update to connect to PC?  Perhaps HC extension can cause Error 0080?

With respect to the HC Font being "thinner" I suspect the firmware update reset the HC to the default standard setting rather than "bold" in the HC setup options. Just go into the menu and reset it again. 

 

JRE


  • Procyon and Jim4321 like this

#43 darronbrown

darronbrown

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2015
  • Loc: Katy, Texas

Posted 17 January 2016 - 10:18 AM

My install stops on 2/6 at about 6%, have to turn it off and try again. Fails on start Bootloader: 0008 (Not 0080). I've tried everything, any suggestions?



#44 roelb

roelb

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,853
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2013
  • Loc: Belgium, Antwerp

Posted 09 March 2016 - 06:48 PM

My install stops on 2/6 at about 6%, have to turn it off and try again. Fails on start Bootloader: 0008 (Not 0080). I've tried everything, any suggestions?

I had the same problem doing an update via WiFi.

Perhaps their was a short WiFi interruption.

Have sent an email to Baader Planetarium in Germany:

 

quote:

As per:  http://www.f1telesco...ilable-via-cfm/
I've tried to do a firmware update.

Before the update the program displays:
List of Devices:
SkyQLink on Link: NETWORK using portal: /1.2.3.4:2000
StarSense HC on Link: NETWORK using portal: StarSense+ HC
App version = 1.15.15176
Evolution on Link: NETWORK using portal: Motor Controller
App version = 7.10.4188
StarSense Accessory Camera on Link: NETWORK using portal: SSA camera
App version: 1.2.13343

After the update:
The StarSense HC update has been failed.
The Evolution MC version = 7.11.500 (seems last version; OK)
The SSA version = 1.12.13343 (not changed)

The SS-HC displays:
BOOT LOADER Serial
Invalid Pkg: 0008

The SkyPortal app (on Android) still works with SS (but now calibration was required).

So, it seems to me that the wireless update isn't possible for the SS-HC.

Should it be still possible to update the SS-HC with the "serial to USB"-method?

I fear that, if the SS-HC shows this error an update would no longer possible?

unquote

 

And received following response:

quote:

You should be able to do an update of the handcontrol with the cable, as described in the manual. It should still be possible to set the handcontrol into programming mode; you may try it by starting the telescope and pressing the buttons MENU and OPTIONS (Celestron-logo). The handcontrol should then show the text BOOT LOADER - User Keypad Entry.

You may have to try several times to get into boot mode, it doesn't always work on the first try.

unquote

 

I will try that with a RS232 to USB cable and report back.


  • Procyon likes this

#45 Whuppy

Whuppy

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 931
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2013
  • Loc: Ortonville, MI

Posted 09 March 2016 - 07:30 PM

Another solution to having a laptop is, buy a spare HC. I have 3 of them. Keep your eyes on Ebay, they come up quite often and you can get nice used ones for around $30 maybe more, maybe less. They fit neatly into your bag of goodies and travel well. You can load different firmwares on each one or make them all the same. Almost all Hc's are usable with different mounts, just depends on what you choose when updating the firmware.

 

If the same thing keeps happening with different HC's, I'd suspect power issues.


  • Procyon and roelb like this

#46 roelb

roelb

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,853
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2013
  • Loc: Belgium, Antwerp

Posted 20 March 2016 - 05:54 PM

 

My install stops on 2/6 at about 6%, have to turn it off and try again. Fails on start Bootloader: 0008 (Not 0080). I've tried everything, any suggestions?

I had the same problem doing an update via WiFi.

Perhaps their was a short WiFi interruption.

Have sent an email to Baader Planetarium in Germany:

 

quote:

As per:  http://www.f1telesco...ilable-via-cfm/
I've tried to do a firmware update.

Before the update the program displays:
List of Devices:
SkyQLink on Link: NETWORK using portal: /1.2.3.4:2000
StarSense HC on Link: NETWORK using portal: StarSense+ HC
App version = 1.15.15176
Evolution on Link: NETWORK using portal: Motor Controller
App version = 7.10.4188
StarSense Accessory Camera on Link: NETWORK using portal: SSA camera
App version: 1.2.13343

After the update:
The StarSense HC update has been failed.
The Evolution MC version = 7.11.500 (seems last version; OK)
The SSA version = 1.12.13343 (not changed)

The SS-HC displays:
BOOT LOADER Serial
Invalid Pkg: 0008

The SkyPortal app (on Android) still works with SS (but now calibration was required).

So, it seems to me that the wireless update isn't possible for the SS-HC.

Should it be still possible to update the SS-HC with the "serial to USB"-method?

I fear that, if the SS-HC shows this error an update would no longer possible?

unquote

 

And received following response:

quote:

You should be able to do an update of the handcontrol with the cable, as described in the manual. It should still be possible to set the handcontrol into programming mode; you may try it by starting the telescope and pressing the buttons MENU and OPTIONS (Celestron-logo). The handcontrol should then show the text BOOT LOADER - User Keypad Entry.

You may have to try several times to get into boot mode, it doesn't always work on the first try.

unquote

 

I will try that with a RS232 to USB cable and report back.

 

Hello.

I was able to carry out the firmware updates, so this is the report, as promised.

 

I've done the SS-HC update using cables as per: StarSense_Connection_Diagram.jpg

 

IMPORTANT REMARK: the link http://www.f1telesco...ilable-via-cfm/

says that a wireless firmware update is possible with SS-HC firmware version 1.15 or later.

Since my SS-HC had V.01.15.15176, a wireless update should be possible.

BUT THE INFO ON THE "f1telescopes" -site ISN'T CORRECT!!!

 

I have sent an email to "f1telescopes" about my problem with the wireless SS-HC firmware update, and their response was:

quote:

Hi,

Please see below

".. StarSense hand controllers can be updated by WiFi when they have
version 1.15 (or later) of the firmware.
Again, if the firmware version needs updating to 1.15, this must be done by
cable first in the regular way..."

Since you are running ver. 1.12  you will need to update with cables to
1.15, then try again.

Regards

Luigi

f1telescopes

unquote

 

I've sent a reply to stipulated that the version was 1.15.15176, and the reply was:

quote:

Hi,
Please read again, the firmware version (not app version) must be updated to 1.15 via cable before wifi updates can work
Regards
Luigi
f1telescopes

unquote

 

Because they don't seem to admit that the actual version was OK for a wireless update, I reported the issue to "Baader Planetarium" in Germany.

Their response:

quote:

Hello!
You should be able to do an update of the handcontrol with the cable, as described in the manual. It should still be possible to set the handcontrol into programming mode; you may try it by starting the telescope and pressing the buttons MENU and OPTIONS (Celestron-logo). The handcontrol should then show the text BOOT LOADER - User Keypad Entry.
You may have to try several times to get into boot mode, it doesn't always work on the first try.
Best regards,
Alexander Kerste
BAADER PLANETARIUM GMBH

unquote

 

And also to Celestron USA support, with the answer:

quote:

Hello Ronald,

Sorry to hear about the issue. Currently there is no wireless update for the Starsense. You will need to connect the Starsense HC using the RS232 cable and a USB converter cable. The Camera will need a USB mini connected to the computer for updating. You will use the CFM link below to run the update. Please advise.

http://software.cele...pdates/CFM/CFM/

Best Regards,

Tyler
Celestron Technical Services

unquote

 

So, Celestron clearly says that no wireless SS-HC firmware update is yet possible.

 

Using all necessary cables (luckily I had already a 'USB to RS 232' cable, used in the past to update SE-mount and HC).

The update, using the latest CFM version 2.1.6050 (from: http://software.cele...pdates/CFM/CFM/) went successfully.

 

ONE IMPORTANT REMARK:

When the program isn't able to find a device, a "Connection Assistant" shows up.

Saying: "CFM detected serial ports n your PC but found no devices attached to them. ..."

The following "Connection Assistant" only displays how the connections should be made,

but doesn't give a hint what's exactly is wrong with the serial adapter connection.

After an hour trying to change the order in which I made the connections, I did find the solution.

In the CFM- upper left menu, called 'CFM', select 'Connections...'. you can manually select:

 - the connection type (Serial or WiFi)   --   select: Serial

 - the Discovery Method (Automatic or Manual)   --   select: Automatic

 - the Default Port Settings (Serial or WiFi)   --   select: Serial and enter the Serial Port Name COM#

(the correct serial port COM number can be found in Windows Configuration > Device Mgt. > Network adapters (COM & LPT))

 

I also did the update with the Nexstar+ HC plugged into the mount, which also went successfully.

 

Here I list all firmware version after all updates:

 

SS-HC: V.01.15.15178 /  Boot Version: V.3.2.5190 (as displayed by CFM)

             !! the HC still displays the old V.01.15.15176

             I asked Celestron Support about this issue and they responded: "There is a numerical error in the file name."

 

SS-Camera: V.01.02.13343   (no change)

 

MC: Model: Evolution

        Azm.Ver: 7.11.5100   (was: 7.10)

        Alt.Ver:    7.11.5100   (was: 7.10)

 

P: SYSTEM: V.01.00.14293   (no change)

P: LISA:       V.01.01.14072   (no change)

P: DBOBJ:   V.01.01.14294   (no change)

 

A print screen after the update:

 

Good luck and clear nights.

Roel

Attached Thumbnails

  • Celestron Nexstar Evolution + StarSense - Firmware Update with CFM V 2.1.650 _ 16-03-18.jpg

  • 42itous1 likes this

#47 nitzy101

nitzy101

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2014
  • Loc: Philadelphia

Posted 13 February 2017 - 10:46 PM

the fix is not to use the newest version 7016 use 2.1.6050...i was recieving boot errors for hours then i "Skipped" using the "newest version"...perfectly completed update


  • jowaldo likes this

#48 jowaldo

jowaldo

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 83
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2013

Posted 02 March 2017 - 07:05 PM

the fix is not to use the newest version 7016 use 2.1.6050...i was recieving boot errors for hours then i "Skipped" using the "newest version"...perfectly completed update

I talked to Celestron support and they wanted me to send my hand controller back since I was getting the 0080 error, and using CFM didn't help.

 

Originally I downloaded what is version 2.1.6050 off of their website and it immediately says there is an update, so I just downloaded it and it gave me 2.3.7070 which didn't help.

 

Then I saw your post to use 2.1.6050 and it worked!  Thank you!  Now if I just knew why for sure it did that in the first place.



#49 nitzy101

nitzy101

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 12 Aug 2014
  • Loc: Philadelphia

Posted 03 March 2017 - 05:42 PM

No problem. Starsense is truley awesome;streamlined my operation and my polar alignment is absolutely perfect im guiding for 20 mins with perfect round stars and only using an Advance Vx scope that is loaded to the max...starsense has totally changed my game...thumbs up to Celestron...just fix the little bitty software bugs...your so close to perfection. 


  • outofsight likes this

#50 plane48

plane48

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 225
  • Joined: 23 Jun 2017
  • Loc: Hereford, Arizona

Posted 02 July 2017 - 01:43 PM

I got the dreaded Bootloader Invalid Pkg: 0080 error on a Nexstar Evolution scope, thus rendering the scope unusable.  Poking around on the keypad I was able to get various options by pushing the logo key and other keys during startup (hold the keys and turn on scope).  I finally found that pushing the logo key and the number 4 key brought up Bootload Aux.  This allowed me to reflash the Nexstar+ HC successfully through wifi.


  • Procyon, eMaX and Belmando like this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics