•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

The Most Beautiful Planetary Images In The World

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
186 replies to this topic

#1 Daniel Mounsey

Daniel Mounsey

Vendor (Woodland Hills)

• Vendors
  • topic starter

Posted 20 August 2013 - 01:40 AM

I've been observing pretty solid for two decades. In the past 15 years however, I have tested many telescopes in the field, side by side and it actually became an obsession for me. Bringing photons to a single point is an amazing thing I don't often take for granted, and it takes a very special instrument to do it. In that time, I am deeply grateful to several extremely experienced and talented observers for this.

I have tested numerous achromats and apochromats all the way up and through 6", 7", 8", 9" and 10". In my opinion, apochromats have a cutoff point at 10" with a point of diminishing return on anything larger, due to several factors. Pons always told me that an apochromat beyond 10" is highly unlikely to achieve the spherical correction needed to produce a world class image. Another extremely talented source who I will not name, agreed. There is only so far an apochromat can go and other options have to be considered.

I have also tested numerous high quality reflectors using some of the the finest optics available all the way up to 32". You just never know what a telescope will dish out until that moment occurs, and it's a breathtaking sight if it does. But, based on all the observational experiences I've encountered, these mid size equatorial mounted Newtonian's still reign supreme. This 8" F-10 by Ed Grissom is just a smaller example.

Attached Thumbnails

• 6035776-Grissom8-F10.jpg

#2 Daniel Mounsey

Daniel Mounsey

Vendor (Woodland Hills)

• Vendors
  • topic starter

Posted 20 August 2013 - 01:42 AM