•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

NEXSTAR11GPS Questions

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 February 2004 - 04:42 PM

I haven't received my scope yet, but am in the process of ordering accessories and have questions.

The first question I have is: By adding a dew shield and a 2" diagonal, will I need to add counterweight?

Second, can anyone recommend a good power supply? All I've seen is the Celestron power tank, which is 7Ah, is that enough or will I need more?

Third, what is a good RA finder scope? Is a Telrad useful on this scope?

My next question has to do with alignment. I've never used a GPS or go-to scope before, so excuse my dumb questions. Do alignment stars have to be in the north, or can they be anywhere?
Should the scope have an unobstructed view of north during power-up and alignment? For example, if theres a house in the way.

Final question(for now), will the scope rotate completely around, 360 degrees?

#2 Dennis

Dennis

Apollo

• -----

Posted 17 February 2004 - 04:59 PM

No need for counterweight with dewshield and 2" diagonal. I'm using both on my 9.25 with a heavy 35mm Panoptic.