Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

iAstroHub: Tablet astrophotography comes true!

  • Please log in to reply
588 replies to this topic

#101 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 10 June 2014 - 04:52 AM

This is the kernel for MK808B
https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing

You need to run four commands in the command line:
sudo cp system/etc/firmware/fw_bcmdhd.bin system/etc/firmware/fw_bcmdhd.bin.bak
sudo cp system/etc/firmware/fw_RK903.bin system/etc/firmware/fw_bcmdhd.bin
sudo cp system/etc/wifi/bcmdhd.cal system/etc/wifi/bcmdhd.cal.bak
sudo cp system/etc/wifi/nvram_RK903.cal system/etc/wifi/bcmdhd.cal


In Release 1.0.1, it will be neater than this :)


Hello guys,
just a revision for who is not familiar with linux world: the commands must have a "/" before system/etc ... :)
Clear skies!


Thank you. It should be:


This is the kernel for MK808B
https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing

You need to run these commands in the command line:
sudo cp /system/etc/firmware/fw_bcmdhd.bin /system/etc/firmware/fw_bcmdhd.bin.bak
sudo cp /system/etc/firmware/fw_RK903.bin /system/etc/firmware/fw_bcmdhd.bin
sudo cp /system/etc/wifi/bcmdhd.cal /system/etc/wifi/bcmdhd.cal.bak
sudo cp /system/etc/wifi/nvram_RK903.cal /system/etc/wifi/bcmdhd.cal
sudo reboot

#102 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 10 June 2014 - 04:57 AM


Now the system boots properly but freezes after drivers/mmc/core/core.c ==== mmc rescan is displayed.


I think it boots properly. If you press Alt-F1, do you get the login screen?


Nothing happens.
The screen seems frozen. The boot loader seems to run: if I remove the SDHC card, it stops booting. If I insert the SD card, boot doesn't continue.
I add some screenshots. The first image is the final result. It seems the screen is out-of-sync, the video image flashes. The first screens are printed in smaller characters.


Hi InZet,

Please try booting without any micro SD card and any usb hub. I got the following messages. Make sure you install the kernel file properly. The kernel for MK808B is different from the kernel for MK808. See the post above this post for the MK808B kernel.

Best regards,
Anat

Attached Thumbnails

  • 6574131-photo.JPG


#103 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 10 June 2014 - 05:01 AM


The rest of space is not allocated. So type "sudo gparted" in the command prompt in Mobaxterm. The GUI will open. Then expand the partition to 32 GB.

Hello Anat,
I tried to expand the partition but it seems to be locked so I create a new 8gb parition with the unallocated space, is there a chance to make this usable for the system?

Clear Skies!


I see. You may need to do it from another linux box.

#104 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 10 June 2014 - 05:08 AM

1) Is it possible to download RAWs from dslr to MK808B filesystem in order to have a redundant copy oh them?


You will need to modify the file "dslr_getphoto.sh". But downloading RAW files will take a long time.

2) It seems gphoto is not able to start capturing if the camera display has been switched off; I have a Canon 1100D and I think is better to switch off LCD in order to avoid heat and noise generation during the capture. Did you experience something like that?


Different cameras behave differently. I don't have the problem with my 550D. I can turn off the screen before imaging. Someone else may comment on this.

3) In order to use Dithering have I check "Use DT" in Lin_guider driver setting?


No, you can choose to do dithering or not by selecting in the web admin page.

"Use DT" is for something else. It should not be checked. You can set the dithering amount and delay in the Linguider setting page.

4) How does MK808B consume in order of current? Is it possible to power it by a 1/1.2 A usb hub? ( my one is dlink DUB-H7)

It consumes about 0.5A - 1A. It should be powered by a separate power adapter.

#105 ecloud

ecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013
  • Loc: Dalian, China

Posted 10 June 2014 - 12:20 PM

To use the rest space of TF card:
fdisk /dev/mmcblk0
Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 15.9 GB, 15931539456 bytes
81 heads, 10 sectors/track, 38415 cylinders, total 31116288 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000cc03b

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/mmcblk0p1 2048 15523839 7760896 83 Linux

Command (m for help): n
Partition type:
p primary (1 primary, 0 extended, 3 free)
e extended
Select (default p): 1
Invalid partition type `1'

Command (m for help): n
Partition type:
p primary (1 primary, 0 extended, 3 free)
e extended
Select (default p): p
Partition number (1-4, default 2): 2
First sector (15523840-31116287, default 15523840):
Using default value 15523840
Last sector, +sectors or +size{K,M,G} (15523840-31116287, default 31116287):
Using default value 31116287

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 15.9 GB, 15931539456 bytes
81 heads, 10 sectors/track, 38415 cylinders, total 31116288 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000cc03b

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/mmcblk0p1 2048 15523839 7760896 83 Linux
/dev/mmcblk0p2 15523840 31116287 7796224 83 Linux

Command (m for help): w
The partition table has been altered!

Calling ioctl() to re-read partition table.

WARNING: Re-reading the partition table failed with error 16: Device or resource busy.
The kernel still uses the old table. The new table will be used at
the next reboot or after you run partprobe(8) or kpartx(8)

WARNING: If you have created or modified any DOS 6.x
partitions, please see the fdisk manual page for additional
information.
Syncing disks.
root@rk3066dev:~# reboot

root@rk3066dev:~# mkfs -t ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p2
mke2fs 1.42.5 (29-Jul-2012)
Filesystem label=
OS type: Linux
Block size=4096 (log=2)
Fragment size=4096 (log=2)
Stride=0 blocks, Stripe width=0 blocks
487680 inodes, 1949056 blocks
97452 blocks (5.00%) reserved for the super user
First data block=0
Maximum filesystem blocks=1996488704
60 block groups
32768 blocks per group, 32768 fragments per group
8128 inodes per group
Superblock backups stored on blocks:
32768, 98304, 163840, 229376, 294912, 819200, 884736, 1605632

Allocating group tables: done
Writing inode tables: done
Creating journal (32768 blocks): done
Writing superblocks and filesystem accounting information: done

root@rk3066dev:~# e2label /dev/mmcblk0p2 images


===================================
then, modify /etc/fstab
write a similar line like your /
the mount point should be /home/pi/www/images (Anyone want to mount it to another place?)

It's a bad idea to extend the /
To have a separate images file system will prevent the images from filling up your /
  • craigg likes this

#106 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 11 June 2014 - 12:03 AM

Hi ecloud,

Many thanks for the advice.

Best regards,
Anat

#107 inZet

inZet

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 214
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Milan, Italy

Posted 13 June 2014 - 11:57 AM

Anat, the kernel boots without problem but when I insert the SDHC card and the system tries to continue booting from there, the scrolling stops, the displayed characters became bigger, and the screen flickers. I don't know if the downloaded image is broken, I'll try to download it again and rewrite the SDHC.

#108 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 13 June 2014 - 07:34 PM

inZet,

Please keep me posted. I use win32diskimager to write an image file.

Best regards,
Anat

#109 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 13 June 2014 - 07:35 PM

I did my presentation on iAstroHub. I post my slide here
https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing

Enjoy the concept behind the developement and the summary of features.

Best regards,
Anat

#110 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 17 June 2014 - 04:46 AM

Good news. I have tested the access point mode in an RK3188T device with the AP6210 wifi chip. The AP mode works well.
Many thanks to Max Chen :bow:

In addition, the system image is installed on the NAND memory with about 4 GB free space. So, there is no need for an SD card. RK3188T is about 20-30% faster than RK3066. I use MK809iii for the test.
http://www.geekbuyin...uad-Core-RK3...
The next release of iAstroHub will be able to run on RK3188 devices :)

Best regards,
Anat

#111 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10,739
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 17 June 2014 - 07:12 AM

Anat,

Congrats on the new RK3188/3188T solution. It's very nice to have a much cooler/power efficient solution.
More RAM and Flash ROM space as well.
MK809iii (using RK3188T) is rather inexpensive and is a good buy. One minor comment on that is I would recommend to add a small heatsink on that RK3188T chip.

Clear Skies!

ccs_hello

#112 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 17 June 2014 - 08:10 PM

I recommend this ultra thin heatsink which can fit inside the plastic case:
http://www.moddiy.co...ive-2mm-Ultr...

#113 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 19 June 2014 - 11:30 PM

I am ready to release iAstroHub 1.0.0 for MK809iii (with RK3188T and AP6210) :)

Installation Steps:

1) Download PicUntu-4.5-nand-BasicGUI from
http://www.freaktab....cGUI-install...

2) Follow the steps in PicUntu 4.5. But replace kernel.img and system.img with the following files:

kernel.img
https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing

system.img
https://drive.google...dit?usp=sharing

3) After flashing ROM, the device will boot. It takes about a few minutes in the first boot because of resizing the filesystem.

4) Your mobile device will see the WPA2 network: iAstroHub. Log in using Password: 1234512345123
You can change the SSID and password on the admin page.

5) Follow the initial setup steps in
http://sourceforge.n.../?source=navbar


Advantages of iAstroHub on MK809iii
1) Faster (by 20-30%, noticeable in plate-solving and skychart)
2) More memory
3) Cooler
4) Everything is installed on internal NAND. No need for a micro SD card.
5) Still able to save images on a micro SD card separately.
6) WPA2 network security


Enjoy!
Anat

#114 ecloud

ecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013
  • Loc: Dalian, China

Posted 20 June 2014 - 10:27 AM

Hi Anat,

I have made some enhancements for Pentax.
I will mail you the patch

Attached Thumbnails

  • 6592412-???? 2014-06-18 ??2.57.40.png


#115 ecloud

ecloud

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 222
  • Joined: 17 Oct 2013
  • Loc: Dalian, China

Posted 20 June 2014 - 10:58 AM

And add a delete button for all PEF and JPGs

Attached Thumbnails

  • 6592467-???? 2014-06-18 ??2.59.46.png


#116 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 20 June 2014 - 05:59 PM

Hi ecloud,

Cool. Thanks for the update. Please email the patch to me at aruangra at yahoo dot com. I will add it in iAstroHub.

Best regards,
Anat

#117 mega1977

mega1977

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 26 Mar 2013

Posted 27 June 2014 - 05:10 AM

Hello guys,
actually using iastrohub 1 as my first platform. I can count 5/6 nights all successfull. I'm not more carrying Windows notebook with me.
Two problems looking for a solution:
- Which browser do you use on android? I've tried mercury but it's not really usable as alternative. The standard android browser, it's fine to display pages, but often crashes.

- Linguider guides fine on my qhy6/st4/neq6goto setup. Using a skywatcher 80/400 acro refractor.
it does it's dirty job ... till the sky it's really clear. With my actual settings, if it happens that a cloud comes in guider FOV and guide star becomes not visible, linguider gets mad and begins to drift like a fool, maybe trying to find the star. 1 minute of cloudy fov it's enough to completely ruin my view. I have to stop everything , refind the object, restore the previous view as possible and restart guiding. this night i had many passing clouds and it was a nightmare.
Am i missing anything with settings? As far as I have seen, the behaviour of linguider is too aggressive with clouds, and instead of just stop guiding and let mount follow blindly till the cloud go away, he completely screw up everything trying to find the star that infact has not moved. When sky is clear again, impossible for him to recover. In case i'm not looking at the screen, or i have fallen asleep, 30 seconds of clouds can completely destroy hours of work. Didnt have this problem with phd, even with clouds staying many minutes, often, he was able to recover and i just found some ruined lights to be discarded.
any hints?

it's cool the iso selector for PENTAX, cant be implemented for canon too?

#118 inZet

inZet

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 214
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Milan, Italy

Posted 27 June 2014 - 02:18 PM

Anat, I'm at a dead point. I used win32diskimager again, downloaded a new image, flashed the kernel and followed all the steps, but after booting the screen flickers. Any suggestion?

#119 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 30 June 2014 - 05:21 AM

Anat, I'm at a dead point. I used win32diskimager again, downloaded a new image, flashed the kernel and followed all the steps, but after booting the screen flickers. Any suggestion?


Sorry to hear about your problem. I want to check a few things:
1) Could you please show the screenshot of the last boot messages when there is no SD card.
2) What is the size of the unzipped image file?
3) Do you use 64-bit Windows? I got some reports that win32diskimager has problems with 64-bit windows.

Best regards,
Anat

#120 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 30 June 2014 - 05:38 AM

Hello guys,
actually using iastrohub 1 as my first platform. I can count 5/6 nights all successfull. I'm not more carrying Windows notebook with me.


Thank you for your real-life report :)

Two problems looking for a solution:
- Which browser do you use on android? I've tried mercury but it's not really usable as alternative. The standard android browser, it's fine to display pages, but often crashes.


I usually use Boat browser and UC browser without any problem. It can download the Skysafari file easily.

- Linguider guides fine on my qhy6/st4/neq6goto setup. Using a skywatcher 80/400 acro refractor.
it does it's dirty job ... till the sky it's really clear. With my actual settings, if it happens that a cloud comes in guider FOV and guide star becomes not visible, linguider gets mad and begins to drift like a fool, maybe trying to find the star. 1 minute of cloudy fov it's enough to completely ruin my view. I have to stop everything , refind the object, restore the previous view as possible and restart guiding. this night i had many passing clouds and it was a nightmare.
Am i missing anything with settings? As far as I have seen, the behaviour of linguider is too aggressive with clouds, and instead of just stop guiding and let mount follow blindly till the cloud go away, he completely screw up everything trying to find the star that infact has not moved. When sky is clear again, impossible for him to recover. In case i'm not looking at the screen, or i have fallen asleep, 30 seconds of clouds can completely destroy hours of work. Didnt have this problem with phd, even with clouds staying many minutes, often, he was able to recover and i just found some ruined lights to be discarded.
any hints?


Thank you for your report. There is an option to check the image quality. But I am not sure if it can deal with passing cloud effectively.
1) In the setup page, check "Image quality"
2) In the guiding page, Q-ctrl should deal with clouds.
I will ask the developer of Linguider for opinions.

it's cool the iso selector for PENTAX, cant be implemented for canon too?


I will definitely add it in the next release. Hopefully in next few weeks. We could successfully add the support for SBIG cameras. Many thanks to Giampiero, the developer of OpenSkyImager.

Best regards,
Anat

#121 inZet

inZet

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 214
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Milan, Italy

Posted 30 June 2014 - 01:25 PM

The size of unzipped image iAstroHub_1.0.0_20140425.img is 7,40 GB (7.948.206.080 byte)
I use a plain Windows XP 32 bits.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 6609337-DSC_7913_1024.JPG


#122 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 30 June 2014 - 06:54 PM

The kernel and the image file seems OK. Did you try writing the image to other SD cards?

#123 Jason Lin

Jason Lin

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Shenzhen, China

Posted 30 June 2014 - 11:13 PM

Hi Anat,

one more question, if my new mount supports only single-axis guiding, do I simply un-check the ""two axis" in Linguider to enable the single axis guiding?

Jason

#124 anat

anat

    iAstroHub 3

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,120
  • Joined: 03 Jun 2004

Posted 01 July 2014 - 12:05 AM

Hi Anat,

one more question, if my new mount supports only single-axis guiding, do I simply un-check the ""two axis" in Linguider to enable the single axis guiding?

Jason


Hi Jason,

You will need to modify rcalibration.cpp to make the single axis guiding work. What mount do you use? I can prepare the modified code for you and please help me test :) I am looking at Star Adventurer for light-weight photography :)

Anat

#125 xb39

xb39

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 131
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2013
  • Loc: Germany

Posted 01 July 2014 - 01:39 AM

Hi Anat,
first I want to say: Great work! I have the new star adventurer (see: star adventurer) and as soon as I get iAstroHub running I could support you in testing single axis guiding (RA-axis) with the star adventurer.

Best regards
Stefan


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics