•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

TEC 140 - the greatest consumer telescope in history?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
479 replies to this topic

#1 jrbarnett

jrbarnett

Eyepiece Hooligan

• topic starter

Posted 16 September 2014 - 02:55 PM

BillP's thread on "classics" got me thinking about all of the dozens of instruments I've owned over the years, and which, were I asked to identify one of them above all the rest, my favorite would be, and why.

Per the title, it's the TEC 140.  It ain't the biggest, nor the rarest, nor the most expensive instrument I've owned.  But it is the best.

But why?

A little about me.  I've been observing since the early 1970s.  I've owned more than 50 telescopes and have more than 15 currently.  The largest I have ever owned is 16".  The smallest is 60mm.  I own or have owned Mak Newts, achromats, ED doublets, apochromats, SCTs (both Edge and non-Edge), MCTs (both Gregory and Rumak), D-K's, Dobs and Newts.  Focal ratios have ranged from f/4.3 to f/17.  I am purely a visual observer.  I don't do binoviewers either.

Of all of these instruments used over a four decade period, for me the TEC 140 reigns supreme.  Oh TEC how I love thee!  Let me count the ways...

The TEC is the contrast king.

The TEC is smooth.  The smoothest optic I have ever owned.  The TEC has masterfully coated surfaces (see invisi-glass image below).  The TEC lacks 4 of the superfluous light-scattering, contrast-robbing surfaces that an air spaced triplet or SCT are burdened with.

P3221326.jpg

The TEC is light and compact.

TEC weighs just 19# bare and is scarcely a meter long with dew shade retracted.  It can live happily and easily on an NEQ6/Atlas/CGEM.  Anyone can carry it in any vehicle.  Anyone can install it in the mount saddle easily.

P3221335.jpg