•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Telescopes and Coconuts...

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic

#1 Pasquale

Pasquale

Encrypted

• topic starter

Posted 05 December 2005 - 04:02 AM

Hi All...

My name is Pasquale, and I'm new to Cloudy Nights. Having recently retired, I now have the time to enjoy my life long passion... Astronomy :love: My only experience consists of endless hours peering through my brother's circa 1972 Tasco 60mm telescope given to him that Christmas. He looked throught it twice and moved on. I, however, found Saturn, and was hooked for life...

Deciding to "Do It Right", I initiated my research, and stumbled upon this terrific forum. It didn't take me long before I realized... you people are a sharp bunch of coconuts! You are knowledgeable, experienced, friendly and most importantly, very passionate about amateur astronomy. Exactly what a new guy needs. I have learned volumes by reading thread after thread on this site, and even found a friend by enlisting the aid of Photonovore, who helped me considerably in my selection of a telescope. Big kudo's to you Mardi :bow: When the dust settled and cleared, I chose the NexStar 9.25 GPS. I found only a couple of dealers who had that model in stock, and chose Astronomics because of their commitment to help maintain this gem of a website. Tom and Billy were both friendly and extremely helpful in suggestions and service. Needless to say, I will continue to give them my business in future purchases.

I am posting this message as my introduction to the forum. The scope arrives on Thursday, and the questions will most assuredly arise on Friday. I didn't want to be a complete stranger to those who will undoubtedly further my progress in this hobby.