•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

110 mm Zeiss needs TLC

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Patrik Iver

Patrik Iver

Apollo

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Kaarina, Finland

Posted 25 October 2014 - 05:04 AM

I've posted about this same telescope in the refractors-forum some 3 - 4 years ago, but there was not that much interest at the time, so I'd thought I'd try again now in this forum.

The university (Åbo Akademi, Turku, Finland) I studied engineering at many years ago has an observatory dome on the library building. It is visible from a balcony of a house I used to live in at the time, and I sometimers wondered what (if anything) was in the dome. I knew it was not actively used even then (20 - 25 years ago).

A web search I did when I originally posted about this, came up with a link with these high resolution pictures (from 2004):

http://users.utu.fi/...i/AA_index.html

So it is a 110 mm equatorially mounted Zeiss refractor with mechanical clock drive and a Zeiss astograph riding piggyback. Would be a massive and demanding restoration project...

I'm not 100 % sure that no-one has rescued the telescope since then, but I think it is most likely  sitting where it was, and in the same condition (plus 10 more neglected years).

I haven't tried approaching anyone who would know which department actually owns it, and if they could be persuaded to part with it. If a deal could be negotiated, then there is the question about restoration, and finally about what to do with it, as is is a big pedestal-mounted instrument that really should be housed in an observatory.

A fine telescope like that should really be used and enjoyed. Preferrably in lightly and lovingly restored condition.

Ideas or comments, anyone?

Edit: Note the link to the scanned original manual high up on the page.