•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Extra Diffraction Spike?

reflector optics Orion equipment
This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic

#1 Tom Conway

Tom Conway

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 02 December 2014 - 12:42 AM

I've got a really annoying extra diffraction spike in my images.  I'm fairly new to all of this, but believe I've got good collimation.  I've attached two images showing the spike, one of an astro photo in the M42 region, the other using an artificial star I made out of an LED flashlight.  I've inspected the scope carefully and don't see anything obvious.  The spider vanes appear to be straight, and at 90 degrees, not bent or twisted. Anybody have any experience with this sort of thing?  The scope is an Orion F3.9 Astrograph. Thanks!

OrionExtraSpike.jpg ArtStarExtraSpike.jpg

#2 precaud

precaud

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 02 December 2014 - 08:06 AM

Yeah, I've see it in 2 or 3 eyepieces, and in each case have traced it down to the eyepiece. The spike rotates as the eyepiece is rotated in the focuser. Close examination reveals nothing wrong with them, and their performance is otherwise uncompromised, so it remains a mystery.

#3 schang

schang

Surveyor 1

Posted 02 December 2014 - 09:25 AM

What kind of eyepieces that caused this extra spike?  I wonder if the OP used the same type of eyepiece?

#4 precaud

precaud

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 02 December 2014 - 09:56 AM

The one that has it the strongest is a 10mm Vixen NPL. It bothered me enough that I wrote the dealer. He sent me another one to compare it to. The second had no extra spike, but was noticeably worse in other respects, so I returned it and kept the spikey one. Whatever the cause, it doesn't seem to have an impact on its performance in other respects, it is quite good.