•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

If you want to Master your craft, read Lessons from the Masters

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 AstroDad

AstroDad

Lift Off

• topic starter
  • Loc: TX

Posted 07 January 2015 - 11:37 AM

Lessons from the Masters: Current Concepts in Astronomical Image Processing (Springer, 2013.) edited by Robert Gendler is an essential addition to library of every serious astrophotographer. Gendler, who edited this 387 page work is himself a Master of the art and science of astrophotography with a rich portfolio of astrophoto accolades and achievements, including 107 NASA APOD selections. Gendler is a physician by profession and therefore technically an "amateur" astronomer. However he routinely teams with the world's leading professional observatories to create masterful images from their exquisite data sets.

Click here to view the article

#2 hfjacinto

hfjacinto

I think he's got it!

• Loc: Land of clouds and LP

Posted 07 January 2015 - 09:29 PM

I agree, its a great book, recommend it for any astrophotograpghers

#3 aorion314

aorion314

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Elk Grove Ca

Posted 09 January 2015 - 06:05 AM

aorion314 here, any idea as to cost of book?

#4 Stargazer3236

Stargazer3236

Skylab

• ****-
  • Loc: Waltham, MA

Posted 10 January 2015 - 04:50 AM

$40 at Amazon.com

#5 crgood2

crgood2

Mariner 2

• Loc: Southern Arizona

Posted 17 January 2015 - 09:35 PM

Agree about the first chapter... Have the book and read the first chapter about three months ago.  Haven't picked it up since because of it, but probably will start again

#6 jlmanatee

jlmanatee

Mariner 2

• Loc: SE Minnesota

Posted 21 January 2015 - 09:23 AM