•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Still Having a Ball with My New Binos and Zero Gravity Chair

binoculars dso
  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 DemosL

DemosL

Mariner 2

• topic starter
  • Loc: Dale City, VA, USA

Posted 20 May 2015 - 11:33 PM

Last night I was out from about 11pm to about 1am. I usually sweep the sky looking for DSOs or other interesting objects that pop into view. I pretend like I'm an astronomer hundreds of yeaars ago, before anything was catalogued. I found 6 globulars along with Saturn. The globulars were M4, M5, M13, M92, M10 and M12.

I've been using telescopes since 1969 and only strated using binoculars this year because of really bad arthitis in my right hip. I always used to be happy I didn't take out my scopes too much, because astronomy can literally be a pain in the neck, butt, back and maybe knees. You have to be a bit of a contortionist with a hobby like astronomy.

I enjoy laying on my zero gravity chair and looking up at the sky with my 15 x 70 binos. I never laid down on the ground as a kid and looked up at the sky. I really missed out on something simple and yet really enjoyable. I can enjoy astronomy again with no pain. I really enjoy low power, wide angle viewing. I used to look for DSOs at 48 to 80x and then would use additional magnification once I found something that could use more magnification. The views at high power with a FOV of 20 or 30' don't compare to the low power wide angle views I'm getting. I can't wait to see the Andromeda Galaxy (M31) in a few months. I've viewed it many times in my scopes, but never in my binos. I also have never found M33, which is large and doesn't have much contrast in a scope. I'm hoping to get better views in my binos.