•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

My first definite GRS sighting!

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Scott in NC

Scott in NC

Refractor Fanatic

• Administrators
  • topic starter
  • Loc: NC

Posted 24 May 2015 - 12:54 PM

Even though I've been observing for quite a few years, last night I got my first good, clear look at the GRS.  I've had other occasions where I thought I might have seen it, but on those past occasions I was never really 100% sure, as all that I could definitely say that I saw was a grayish, rather indistinct discontinuity in Jupiter's SEB.  But last night the viewing conditions were really nice, and I looked at Jupiter for the first time with my relatively new (to me, that is) Tak FS-128 5" f/8.1 fluorite doublet apo.  According to S&T, the GRS transited Jupiter's meridian at 7:09 p.m. EST, and I could clearly see it during the evening twilight when I first looked at around 8:00 p.m.  I went inside for a while and came back out after dark at around 9:30 p.m., at which point I could no longer see it, as it had already rotated around to the western limb.  The GRS actually had a distinctly reddish appearance, and unlike my previous attempts to see it, this time there was no doubt about what I had seen.  The best views were with 13mm and 8mm Ethos eyepieces (80x and 130x, respectively).  I viewed a bunch of other objects as well, but this GRS sighting really made my night.

:jump:

• dr.who, choran, Bomber Bob and 1 other like this

#2 star drop

star drop

contra contrail

• Moderators
  • Loc: Snow Plop, NY

Posted 24 May 2015 - 01:01 PM

I had observed over thirty years before I first saw it. I looked at Jupiter at the wrong times or just ignored the planet altogether.

#3 tomcody

tomcody

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Titusville, Florida

Posted 24 May 2015 - 01:09 PM

Very nice Scott.