•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Sony A7S - Viable for EAA?

• Please log in to reply
181 replies to this topic

#1 schwim

schwim

Viking 1

• topic starter

Posted 22 June 2015 - 02:27 PM

I've been doing the EAA thing for about 6 months with a MC Xtreme2 which I control and view with my computer. I've been amazed at the things I've been able to see with this set up. Yet, I'm left feeling like the analog output and low resolution are just.... lacking.  I took interest in the A7S as a potential "cross over" camera - one where I could still do the things I've been doing with the MC-X2 (hopefully better, actually), and have a device that can get me started in astrophotography. I've seen at least one individual on NSN using the A7S as an EAA camera that can also do AP. I've been tracking the AP forum and see the A7S as viable for my needs on the AP side.

My question for this forum is specific to EAA application of the A7S. Have you done it? If so, how? How does it compare to the dedicated EAA cameras that are out there? What software are you using to control and broadcast on NSN? Are there other cameras I should consider in lieu of the A7S? Ideally I'd like something that I can get dual use out of.

As far as exposures, I tend to think of them as integrations. I don't need a "real time" view. I'd argue that I'm not even getting that with my MC, as I have to wait for the integration to complete to see the object.

Any advice and/or help is appreciated!

- Greg

#2 coinboy1

coinboy1

Apollo

• Loc: Tulsa, OK

Posted 22 June 2015 - 02:56 PM