•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

The road to your first telescop and the stars - a newbie's perspective

beginner binoculars charts reflector refractor
This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
36 replies to this topic

#1 aeajr

aeajr

Voyager 1

• topic starter

Posted 04 August 2015 - 07:09 AM

I am still new to this hobby and just now getting my first scope(s) up and running, so this is not advice from a wise old astronomer. This is advice from one who has been in and out of a variety of hobbies.  This is my newest passion and I have been immersing myself in information.  I am going to share what I have learned so far in the hope it helps others get started.

There are no beginner telescopes.   There are beginners and there are telescopes. That's it!    And there are beginner's expectations, which can sometimes be unrealistic.

What would be the perfect first telescope?  We all ask this question.

• One that can be purchased within your budget. ( is your budget realistic?)

• One that will give you the opportunity to learn about the sky. (Do you want to learn or do you want to look at things?)

• One that will not frustrate you or fall so far shot of your expectations that you walk away. (what are your expectations?)

• One that you can handle (these things get big and heavy)

Which telescope is that?   That depends on you, your budget, how willing you are to learn and how unrealistic your expectations are.   If you think you are going to spend $200 and see things that look like the Hubble photos, I suggest you take up flying model airplanes.  That is my other hobby.  Even with a $2000 scope you will never see views like the Hubble photos.  Ever!