•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

An evening with two 16x70 binoculars

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
41 replies to this topic

#1 Rich V.

Rich V.

Cosmos

• topic starter

Posted 21 August 2015 - 12:34 AM

While at the Oregon Star Party last week, I finally got the chance to spend some time looking through Mr. Bill's Lunt MS 16x70s.  I've been wanting to compare my Fuji FMTs with them all summer but the monsoon weather pattern hasn't been cooperating enough for us to meet in our usual central Nevada location like we usually do.

First, a little background.  I've been enjoying my Fujinon 16x70 FMTs for about 14 years now; they are the last iteration of the "old" FMTs purchased just a year of so before the new "SX-2" model came to market.  The newer, current model may come from a different OEM source as outwardly they are slightly changed in construction and materials.  Internally, I can't say.  I've never heard anything about the whys and wherefores of this change in the Fujinons and have never seen a direct comparison between the two iterations in the field.

When Kunming United Optics came out with their 15x70 BA8 series around 2006, the Fujinons were one of the two "alpha" 70mm Japanese binos; the Nikon 18x70 being the other.  EdZ tested these BA8s and found them to be a worthy, price conscious alternative to the Fujis even though they still had limited eye relief and didn't match the flat field of the Fujis.  The coatings and field illumination of the BA8s were a definite improvement over the previous Chinese offerings and were determined to be competitive with the Fujis.