Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Anyone using VirtualHere usb-over-ip hub?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 Ricky

Ricky

    Gemini

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,323
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2003

Posted 17 December 2015 - 02:20 PM

Hi All,

Right now i'm down to running one usb cable from my imaging rig to my imaging laptop.  My goal is to finally not be tethered at all.  Ive been eyeing setting up a raspberry pi-usb server using virtualhere which would transmit all usb traffic over wireless ethernet.  Has anyone attempted this route?  I am also looking into the more traditional method of setting up a mount-side pc and then remotely controlling it using, for instance, tight vnc.

 

Currently, these are the devices attached to my usb hub:

usb-eqdir for eqmod

atik ccd

motorized focuser

usb-wifi dongle for gamepad controller (for eqmod)

 

I would like to add: (need to procure a more than 4-port hub)

gps dongle (for eqmod, which I have and it works)

autoguiding (currently using mgenII standalone guider...which is awesome btw!)

 

Im just curious if anyone has done this...and im sure someone has as virtualhere has been around for awhile now.  Thoughts?  Suggestions?


Edited by Ricky, 17 December 2015 - 02:21 PM.


#2 R Botero

R Botero

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • -----
  • Posts: 5,343
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2009

Posted 18 December 2015 - 05:32 AM

Hi Ricky

 

I use VirtualHere connected to an RPi inside my RoR observatory.  That RPi is a weather server and controls the opening and closing of the RoR.  The RPi is wired to my house by Cat5e and VirtualHere is very stable that way.  If I try to connect wireless it disconnects too often to be reliable for weather monitoring or worse, data transmission.

 

I do not have a PC in the observatory; I run all connections to my mount, camera, guider, focuser, etc via one of these:  http://www.icron.com...0-rg2304ge-lan/

 

Roberto



#3 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10,739
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 18 December 2015 - 08:57 AM

Ricky,

 

Always watch out fr what type of USB device(s) are used on the mount side:

USB2 High-speed, isochronous transfer mode, double USB enumeration, shared USB hub on many heavy load, mix USB 1 with 2, etc. are all set-back disappointment reasons.

In your list of equipment, guidecam can be a good example of the above.  Combining many of the USB gadgets can be another.

 

Clear Skies!

 

ccs_hello



#4 Ricky

Ricky

    Gemini

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,323
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2003

Posted 18 December 2015 - 03:51 PM

Thanks for the replies! 



#5 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10,739
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 18 December 2015 - 08:28 PM

Ricky,

 

Add two links on previous CN discussions...

 

http://www.cloudynig...r/#entry6789537

 

http://www.cloudynig...n/#entry6548741

 

Always watch out for details. In some configurations, they are not affected and some do.
There are a few USB gadgets in astro domain that are hard nut to crack.

 

Clear Skies!

 

ccs_hello



#6 Ricky

Ricky

    Gemini

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,323
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2003

Posted 18 December 2015 - 11:33 PM

Thanks cc_hello!  I'll give it a whirl and see what happens.  At worst I can always pu a kangaroo pc to use as a mount side computer.



#7 Ricky

Ricky

    Gemini

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 3,323
  • Joined: 09 Sep 2003

Posted 04 January 2016 - 10:36 PM

Ricky,

 

Add two links on previous CN discussions...

 

http://www.cloudynig...r/#entry6789537

 

http://www.cloudynig...n/#entry6548741

 

Always watch out for details. In some configurations, they are not affected and some do.
There are a few USB gadgets in astro domain that are hard nut to crack.

 

Clear Skies!

 

ccs_hello

Yup!  Finally got everything configured on my raspberry pi2 and tested my Atik 414ex...connects remotely fine but image download is 1) slooooow and 2) image doesnt look correct...I ran some dark frames remotely and wired direct to my lappy.  Oh well...




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics