•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Skywatcher - EQ6 Polar Scope and Polar Alignment

beginner
  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 charotarguy

charotarguy

Apollo

• topic starter

Posted 26 December 2015 - 07:38 PM

Hi there, I am trying the polar alignment on EQ6, a lot of instructions over here and over the web mention about the Polaris circle but I do not see it in the mount's polar scope, am I missing anything? Here's one of the screen shot from a person who shows how to polar align the scope (http://www.stevebb.c..._alignment.html). So how do I polar align the scope if I do not have the polaris circle? Complete newbie with eq mount. Please help. 

The second screen shot is how it looks in the mount

Attached Thumbnails

• Sky Watcher - Polar Scope.PNG
  • Sky Watcher - New Polar Scope.PNG

Edited by charotarguy, 26 December 2015 - 07:47 PM.

#2 Billy Bl.

Billy Bl.

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: North of 49

Posted 26 December 2015 - 08:18 PM

The Polaris circle is the small circle next to the "s" in "Polaris". Are you saying your mount does not have this?

Edited by Billy Bl., 26 December 2015 - 08:21 PM.

#3 charotarguy

charotarguy

Apollo

• topic starter

Posted 26 December 2015 - 08:36 PM

The Polaris circle is the small circle next to the "s" in "Polaris". Are you saying your mount does not have this?

Bill,

The polar scope I have in the mount do not have that circle, the second screen shot shown in black is how it looks when I look through the polar scope.

#4 Billy Bl.

Billy Bl.

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: North of 49

Posted 26 December 2015 - 08:40 PM

OK. Sorry, I cannot help. Your mount is much newer than mine and likely requires computerised adjustment.

• LBurg likes this

#5 waysta

waysta

Explorer 1

Posted 26 December 2015 - 11:05 PM

This might be the answer: