•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

iOptron Skytracker polar alignment question

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 Mako72

Mako72

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 03 February 2016 - 11:56 PM

I recently purchased an iOptron Skytracker V2 and want to try it tomorrow as it looks like the night sky will finally be clear. I'm new to astrophotography and need some help with doing the polar alignment on the Skytracker. I don't have a smart phone so I can't do the iOptron app for iPhones. I did find Michael Covington's excellent paper on doing the Skytracker polar alignment here: http://www.covington...hael/blog/1302/

I live in the St. Louis area (CST) so the lattitude for St. Louis is 38.627 degrees.

I want to try a 200mm lens on my Canon T3i with the Skytracker so I would like my polar alignment to be better than just sticking Polaris in the middle of the Skytracker reticle. If I understand Michael Covington's chart from the above link correctly here:

Reticle1.jpg

it means that during the month of February at 8pm, I should put Polaris on the 40 degree ring at 5 oclock on the reticle for proper Skytracker tracking as I have indicated here:

Reticle3.jpg

Will my Skytracker be correctly polar aligned for tomorrow night? Is it as simple as that? Thanks 

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 04 February 2016 - 12:44 AM

Pretty much.  That will be close, maybe close enough.  There are a variety of small programs that give more precise numbers, don't know how much difference it makes.

Just be sure to check it immediately before exposing, it's really easy to shift it while pointing the camera.

You can see how well you did by checking it at the end of the exposures.  If you're still on the three rings, that's good.

#3 Mako72

Mako72

Explorer 1

• -----