•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Spectroscopic Analysis & Comparison of Nebula Filters

• Please log in to reply
105 replies to this topic

#1 LunarFox

LunarFox

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Eugene, OR

Posted 10 February 2016 - 04:06 PM

So I'm relatively new to amateur astronomy, but one of the first things about this hobby that really caught my interest were nebula filters. I work in a Molecular Biology lab where we routinely use fluorescent tags to label structures of interest, so I am quite familiar with the use of filters to isolate certain wavelengths and just found it very interesting that very similar filters are being used in astronomy.

However, I was a bit disappointed when I noticed the lack of spectroscopic data that is available on the various filters that are sold online. A few vendors will post the bandpass of the filters they sell, but they're often simple cartoon schematics as opposed to actual scans, so it's really hard to know what you're actually buying and if it's worth the extra cost. 

With that in mind, I've taken it upon myself to use the UV-Vis spectrometer in our lab to take scans of any and all filters that pass through my hands in an effort to provide as much additional data as possible on some of the more common filters. This analysis is by no means final or comprehensive, but I think I have accumulated enough to stimulate some sort of discussion and hopefully answer a few of the more common questions I've seen come up on this forum. In particular I would like to provide a few insights to the following:

1. Which narrowband "UHC-like" filter should I buy?

2. How consistent is the coating process from one batch to another?

3. Is the performance of my "mottled / rusted" filter compromised by the apparent hazing in the coatings?