•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for a good source for Moon Rocks

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 bluesteel

bluesteel

Vanguard

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: KILM

Posted 16 February 2016 - 05:04 PM

In my modest research regarding this, I have found out  there have been several meteorites found on Earth that come from our moon.  Quickly looking online, I see some people selling little "grains of sand" of the meteorite.  I am looking for something a bit bigger for a gift, that would be more than a spec of dust.  This will be my first foray into acquiring a specimen, and do not know much about who are reputable dealers, and who are not.  Somebody could be selling me dirt from their mud flap of their truck, and I would be none the wiser since I am a novice in this regard. 

I am not looking to spend more than $200 for a piece of the moon, and I have no idea what this price would get me.

Any and all advice regarding this would be very greatly appreciated! :)

#2 Ed Fortier

Ed Fortier

Mariner 2

• Loc: Massachusetts

Posted 16 February 2016 - 05:52 PM

If you search "nwa 5000" on eBay, you'll find several examples of this meteorite for under $200.  They are small, but they are not sand grains and they are beautiful.

#3 Ed Fortier

Ed Fortier

Mariner 2

• Loc: Massachusetts

Posted 16 February 2016 - 06:02 PM

Here's one I bought several years ago for a little over $200. One of my favorite small pieces.

Attached Thumbnails

• -2.jpg

#4 lee14

lee14

Viking 1

• Loc: CNY

Posted 16 February 2016 - 08:19 PM

You should try Michael Gilmer at Galactic Stone & Ironworks Meteorites. He does also sell on this site, so you should be able to contact him here.