•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

"StarBright XLT" Coatings. How much better are they really?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1 thornhale

thornhale

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 March 2016 - 02:38 PM

Hi community,

The choice of telescopes is mind-boggling. Every maker has some fancy term that sets it apart from the rest. For the Celestron SE series, it is this "StarBright XLT" coating. I have no experience with these telescopes, but I am wondering. How much better are these coatings compared to other coatings out there (from Meade or Orion or even the Celestron SLE series)? Does anyone have any experiences with "StarBright XLT" coated and "normally" coated telescopes? I am utterly confused on what these coatings "buy" you.

Any insights would be appreciated!

#2 jeff gill

jeff gill

Mariner 2

Posted 12 March 2016 - 03:04 PM

The coatings pushed as extras are better, they transmit more light to the eyepiece, and in some comparisons it is quite a big difference, i have an old 10" meade sct and because of the coatings loss on the corrector it would appear that mathematically at least the reduction in light transmission makes it the equivalent of an 8" with modern coatings.

#3 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

Refractor wienie no more

• Administrators
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 12 March 2016 - 03:14 PM

Meade's UHTC is comparable to Starbright XLT. In a compound telescope like an SCT the losses on the various surfaces add up so transmission is noticeably better (15% or more) with the upgrade coatings.  In Newts and refractors the differences don't accumulate as much, even with multiple surfaces in a refractor  (antireflective coatings on lenses are pretty efficient anyway)

#4 thornhale

thornhale

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 12 March 2016 - 03:27 PM