•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help with potential meterorite identification

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 quietlifeboy

quietlifeboy

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 March 2016 - 08:09 PM

I found several magnetic rocks in central Texas this weekend which I reckon are probably magnetite but I am a super newbie to this sort of thing and hoped I could get some further insight from more knowledgeable individuals. I filed down one of them and that revealed a lighter metallic colour underneath with a vague pattern but it is hard to make out. Unfortunately my camera doesn't take great macro shots but the images of what I found are here-

http://imgur.com/a/dlBGI

Thanks!

#2 Stargezzer

Stargezzer

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Catalina Mountains AZ

Posted 13 March 2016 - 08:53 PM

There are some id keys online that you can use. If I remember correctly the final determination is the color the rock leaves on a scratch plate. It's all in the instructions. It's highly probable it's magnetite.

Good luck

George

#3 quietlifeboy

quietlifeboy

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 13 March 2016 - 10:37 PM

Thanks. I've gone through all the online advice I can find and am still unsure. I've rubbed some on paper and some stainless steel and got no marks from the paper and just a colourless scratch on the steel. I will investigate further!

#4 North of Sixty

North of Sixty

Apollo

• Loc: Yukon

Posted 14 March 2016 - 01:17 AM