•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

newbie: trouble with Coronado PST

• Please log in to reply
90 replies to this topic

#1 dmcnally

dmcnally

Machined Parts

• Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Lompoc, CA

Posted 17 March 2016 - 11:42 AM

Hi,

I've been doing night time observing and imaging for a few years.  A few months ago I mentioned some interest in observing and imaging the sun.  Yesterday a friend loaned me his Coronado PST.  It was given to him a long time ago and he never had the original eyepiece.  He used the PST with a DMK camera for imaging and never really did much observing.

He gave me the PST with a 12.5mm no-name/markings eyepiece in the PST.  I tried to get the scope to focus a few times but I was never able to get the scope to focus.  This morning I tried again.  I could get the scope to focus by sliding the eyepiece completely out of the holder (a 1-1/4" extension was way to far).  After that I went and grabbed a 25mm Meade (Kellner??) eyepiece.  I had to slide it out of the holder about 1/4"-3/8" to get this eyepiece to focus with the scope.

Do the PST's have a long backfocus (sorry, nomenclature isn't my strong point) and need eyepieces with long barrels, or is there something wrong with the scope, or am I just doing something dumb?

thanks,

Dave

#2 skyward_eyes

skyward_eyes

Vendor - Sky-Watcher USA

• Vendors

Posted 17 March 2016 - 12:10 PM

You shouldnt have to back the eyepiece out to focus on a PST. They generally come with focus fairly easily with a 25 Plossl. 

#3 Jeffrey C.

Jeffrey C.

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Belgium

Posted 17 March 2016 - 12:38 PM

Hmm, I have the same issue with my Lunt LS35tha. Isn't it normal either?

#4 DAVIDG

DAVIDG

Cosmos

• Loc: Hockessin, De

Posted 17 March 2016 - 12:40 PM