•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First Light with ASI290MC

• Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1 mfarrell

mfarrell

Vostok 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Northern California

Posted 14 May 2016 - 02:45 AM

Hi all,

I received my ASI290MC directly from ZWO last Friday (after ordering it Tuesday night, a mere 66 hours before delivery...thanks Sam!).  After a few days of clouds and poor conditions, I had a chance to get first light this week.  I decided to do a little shootout with my current planetary imaging cam, the ASI178MM I've been using with RGB filters for the last 5 months or so.  Scope used was my CFF 160mm Apo Refractor and while the seeing was pretty good (~8/10 for this aperture) I'm not sure it would have supported the larger aperture of my C11 Edge.  In any case, the C11 wasn't cooled down and the refractor was ready to go.  'Nuff said.

OK, I know you guys and gals would probably rather see a comparison between 224MC and 290MC or between 178MM and 290MM, but I don't have those other cameras to compare to ;).  While my testing certainly wasn't controlled enough to be a rigorous comparison between a mono and color cam, the results are interesting nonetheless. 

Factors in favor of ASI178MM:

+ Color seems more pleasing at least after initial combination of RGB.  Color out of the color cam looks a little washed out in comparison and the saturation really needs to be cranked up to look similar, but it's still not identical possible due to the wider bandpasses in the color cam which gives less precise color reproduction?