•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

TV101 + 31 mm Nagler + dark skies: Zen

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
26 replies to this topic

#1 gezak22

gezak22

Gemini

• topic starter

Posted 09 July 2016 - 04:57 PM

TV101 + 31 mm Nagler + dark skies. Man!

Backstory:

I spent the last couple of years pretty much only doing photography. It requires a lot of my attention as I am still learning, and a mobile setup requires me to setup and tear down every single time I am imaging. This was fine, as I would much rather do one thing really well than do a mediocre job at two things, so I decommissioned my 8" dob (my first scope) in ~2008. A couple of years ago my astrograph was a Tak Sky 90. It was a very nice setup for mono and narrowband imaging. But I eventually ran out of targets for 400mm of focal length, so I moved on to a 525/660mm focal length instrument, and I hoped to sell the Tak to help with funds. The sell was complicated, and in the end I decided to just keep the Tak and convert it into a visual setup. What I loved about the visual Tak visual setup was its compactness - even with my 5" apo and imaging gear, there was plenty of space for the Tak in my car. Because my photo rig still required some baby sitting, I found that the Tak was only used for widefield views. Of course, it's a fast small aperture doublet, so the field curvature was very obvious.