Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

iAstroHub 3.0: IoT for Astrophotography

  • Please log in to reply
534 replies to this topic

#426 apos

apos

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24 Oct 2017
  • Loc: Ludwigshafen / Rhein, Germany

Posted 26 October 2017 - 06:17 AM


Hey Anat (or others with have a solution to these questions),

thanks a lot for your engagement in this software. I just introduced iAstroHub to my collegues in our local astronomical club.
As a heavy user of SkySafari (only for visual until now) I am planning to motorize my EQ-5. RA already works with a self written programm and arduino.

Know I like to switch to AstroEQ & iAstroHub and I am planning to use _Autoguiding_

I have two questions:

1. AstroEQ: Are there any known problems connecting AstroEQ with iAstroHub? .

Greets
Axel

P.S.: Please: Yes, I know about the actual hardware out there regarding guiding solutions ;-) I am searching for a "non 200 bucks, non ST-4 port"-solution. We have professional astrofotographers in our club but also people that cannot afford a lot of money (e.g. younger ones)


Hi,
I'm discovering AstroEQ. It's nice idea.
If it runs with Ascom EQmod, it will runs with indi EQmod too.
The protocol used by Ascom or indi EQmod toward the mount is the same.
Regards
http://thx59.free.fr/

Thanks a lot.
I assumed it, but was not 100% sure about this fact!

Greets Axel
http://blue-it.org

#427 wjsh1001

wjsh1001

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2017

Posted 08 November 2017 - 11:15 AM

Hello,

I would like to control ASI185MCC as the main camera. But I still unsuccessful. In INDI Web manager I set: Imager Agent, ZWO CCD, EQMod Mount. ASI185 camera is in the INDI Control Panel detected and connected. I put "ZWO CCD" to textbox under the Controlled Devices(Imager Agent) but the status of ZWO CCD under Imager Agent is still red. Thanks for any advice.

Jan

I have the same problem, I can connect "ZWO CCD ASI178MM-Cool" and "ASI EFW filter wheel" separately in the INDIControlpanel page, but can't connect the ccd in Imager Agent (filter wheel connected ok). Does anyone have a solution?

Jeffrey



#428 mtroncoso

mtroncoso

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2013

Posted 09 November 2017 - 05:40 PM

Hi:

 

For some reason I have never been able to view a preview of the pictures I take. I typically set up the camera using qDslrDashboard on an iPad and then go back to iAH to take the frames. When done, I click/press on preview and I’m shown what I think is a sample picture that came with iAH.

 

Have anyone else experienced this?

 

Kind regards,



#429 craigg

craigg

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 30 Jan 2013

Posted 10 November 2017 - 02:21 AM

Is the camera in Raw + JPEG mode? It downloads the jpeg version for the preview

#430 mtroncoso

mtroncoso

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 09 Apr 2013

Posted 10 November 2017 - 06:10 AM

Is the camera in Raw + JPEG mode? It downloads the jpeg version for the preview

Yes, it is. 



#431 Tommy

Tommy

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Milky Way

Posted 26 November 2017 - 08:33 AM

1. Is AZEQ5GT mount USB port supported in iAstroHub 3? 

 

2. I am fans of Pulse guiding. Is pulse guiding still worst in iAstroHub 3?

 

Regards,

Tom



#432 THX59

THX59

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2015
  • Loc: FRANCE

Posted 26 November 2017 - 10:38 AM

Hi Tommy,

 

1- I have never tried INDI EQMOD with an AZEQ5 but I'm sure that it will run.

 

2- IAH use pulse guiding by defect. It can also use the serial link but the result is worst. (explained in the manual).

 

Clear sky,

 

Richard



#433 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10309
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 26 November 2017 - 11:23 AM

AZEQ5 so long as it is in EQ mode, it should be on Synta's microstepping based EQ (RA/DEC) drive system thus would work.

When it is in AltAz mode, AFAIK it will not be supported by EQMOD.  EQMOD is supporting Synta's microstepping EQ mount only.



#434 vendinleciel

vendinleciel

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2014

Posted 29 November 2017 - 04:22 AM

Hello, i live in North of France and i follow Iastrohub for a long time. I have realized eqmod with bluetooth hc05 module like 'gig'i diy (https://sites.google...e/astro/astroeq) and it works well in ascom ad indi.

my question

On iastrohub RPI3, it is possible to add a bluetooth connect/disconnect button on admin page to use this wireless interface.?

 

Congratulations for this wonderfull project



#435 Tommy

Tommy

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Milky Way

Posted 05 December 2017 - 08:33 PM

Hi,

 

Is iastrohub support GPSD? I have a ublox GT-U7 with me now. 

 

Regards,

Tom


  • Jim J likes this

#436 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10309
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 05 December 2017 - 09:11 PM

GT-U7 GPS module seems to have the LVTTL flavor of serial output (just Tx needed) as well as USB flavor (just a may be, USB-serial capability.)

Not difficult to decode NMEA time/location code.



#437 Tommy

Tommy

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Milky Way

Posted 13 December 2017 - 10:07 AM

Hi, 

 

Can we have an option not to save images into Rpi or USB thumb drive but save directly into camera SD card?

 

Regards,

Tom



#438 colgs3b

colgs3b

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2013
  • Loc: Zionsville, IN

Posted 14 December 2017 - 06:20 AM

Gphoto should be saving photos to the camera’s SD card already. If you turn off the ability to download captured images to the RPi, you won’t be able to plate solve.

#439 power1001

power1001

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 22 May 2013

Posted 15 December 2017 - 04:49 PM

Hi,

 

Can someone help me connect with Mobaxterm?  I want to add astrometry indexes.  I have Pi3 and can connect to my Canon SL1 and control with qDSLRdashboard.  I am not familiar with SSH or SFTP or Mobaxterm.  When I try and start a new SFTP session, I'm not sure what to enter or where.  I've tried REMOTE HOST 10.0.0.1 and USERNAME root.  But I get a connection error. unable to connect to server.  The manual and google didn't provide detail steps. 



#440 power1001

power1001

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 22 May 2013

Posted 16 December 2017 - 09:55 AM

Hi,

 

trial and error got access with Mobaxterm.  Don't quite understand it all.  First was able to access a different pi at 10.0.0.148 while connected to my Comcast network.  Then have to connect to iAstroHub network and then to 10.0.0.1.  Now on to remote

imaging and plate solving with this awesome program.


  • bsavoie likes this

#441 tedbiv

tedbiv

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2017
  • Loc: raleigh, nc

Posted 21 December 2017 - 03:34 PM

power1001,

use mobaxterm to setup an 'SSH' connection to iastrohub, not SFTP. set remote host = 10.0.0.1, userid = pi, pwd = raspberry. or userid = root, pwd = 1234512345123.

 

mobaxterm should open an xwindow to linux cli on iastrohub and export $DISPLAY to be your local display. 

 

you can then drag/drop files from windows.

 

make sure you're connected to 10.0.0.1 network.


Edited by tedbiv, 21 December 2017 - 05:11 PM.


#442 power1001

power1001

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 22 May 2013

Posted 22 December 2017 - 03:12 PM

thanks. i got it working and it solves!

 

The only issue I have is that the jpegs from qdslrdashboard don't always load on the pi. it seems to randomly transfer files after I take an exposure.



#443 tedbiv

tedbiv

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2017
  • Loc: raleigh, nc

Posted 22 December 2017 - 07:48 PM

are you loading to usb-flash drive, or transferring to usd card? have you tried small jpegs?



#444 power1001

power1001

    Sputnik

  • *****
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 22 May 2013

Posted 23 December 2017 - 08:27 PM

I startup IAstroHub and then start qDslrDashboard server and then start qDslrDashboard and take exposures. Some show up in the viewer and then I can run the plate solver.

I thought that every exposure from qDslrDashboard would copy the jpeg to the sd card for IAstroHub to view.

#445 THX59

THX59

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 67
  • Joined: 13 Nov 2015
  • Loc: FRANCE

Posted 24 December 2017 - 03:20 AM

I startup IAstroHub and then start qDslrDashboard server and then start qDslrDashboard and take exposures. Some show up in the viewer and then I can run the plate solver.

I thought that every exposure from qDslrDashboard would copy the jpeg to the sd card for IAstroHub to view.

Hi,
The main interest of QDSLR dashboard is to focus on a star in liveview mode.
I recommand to use the IAH main web page (i.e. Gphoto2) for all other operations.
Regards
http://thx59.free.fr


  • tedbiv likes this

#446 ccs_hello

ccs_hello

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10309
  • Joined: 03 Jul 2004

Posted 24 December 2017 - 10:52 AM

re: qDSLRdashboard

 

There is the main processing engine/work-horse and GUI:  "qdslrdashboard" and

there is the protocol converter module "qdslrdashboard server" (ddserver) which is just a simple PTP to PTP/IP(-over WiFi) protocol converter.

 

From the product website, the former, the main function unit, has implementations on Android, iOS, Linux, RPi, and Windows.

 

Latter is just for TL-MR3040 improvised or DD-WRT.

 

Clear Skies!

 

ccs_hello 


Edited by ccs_hello, 24 December 2017 - 01:29 PM.


#447 Mr.Coffee

Mr.Coffee

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: 17 Jun 2016

Posted 14 January 2018 - 04:26 AM

What are the login and password for ssh connection?

try raspberry or ubuntu



#448 tedbiv

tedbiv

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2017
  • Loc: raleigh, nc

Posted 24 January 2018 - 04:05 PM

try:

 

userid = 'pi' pwd = 'raspberry'

userid = 'root' pwd = '1234512345123'



#449 hy-fye1

hy-fye1

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 31 Jul 2015

Posted 25 January 2018 - 10:41 AM

Hi,

 

is there a chance to use my QHY 5III 174 USB3 camera?

 

 

Best regards

Markus



#450 colgs3b

colgs3b

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 155
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2013
  • Loc: Zionsville, IN

Posted 27 January 2018 - 12:11 PM

Hi,

 

is there a chance to use my QHY 5III 174 USB3 camera?

 

 

Best regards

Markus

Linguider and Open Sky Imager do not support the newest generation of USB3 cameras from QHY.  I started writing code for these cameras to work with OSI, and I got pretty far, but I found that Indi/Ekos has support and works pretty well with Raspberry Pi.  Consequently, I have not put in too much effort to get the code done.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics