•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Anyone ever forget their scope?

• Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 Chirp1

Chirp1

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Minnesota

Posted 07 October 2016 - 12:38 PM

I have been observing since 1980. I can honestly say that I have never forgot my scope was outside in the backyard,
Left over night. But I have found an eyepiece or two laying on the ground the next day. Anybody have a funny story along this topic? Thanks Bryon C.

#2 JGass

JGass

Ranger 4

• Loc: MD

Posted 07 October 2016 - 12:54 PM

Don't consider this all that funny, but one time I was transferring my gear from my car to my friends truck to carpool to an observing session.  After loading my dob's OTA, he asked me "Where's the base?" 

Doh!

• Augustus likes this

#3 Richard O'Neill

Richard O'Neill

Surveyor 1

Posted 07 October 2016 - 01:00 PM

It has happened! Fortunately the result for me was only embarrassment.

Edited by Richard O'Neill, 07 October 2016 - 01:05 PM.

#4 wrpspeed16

wrpspeed16

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Davenport,Iowa,USA

Posted 07 October 2016 - 01:18 PM

I had a friend come to an outreach with everthing he needed--- except the tube assembly. :)

• Augustus likes this

#5 izar187

izar187

Gemini

• -----
  • Loc: 43N

Posted 07 October 2016 - 01:30 PM

Scope, no.

Tripod, yes.

Left it out in the middle of a clear cut on public land.

The scope is a table top type, with a home-brew tripod just for it, that stores in my vehicle.

Went to use that scope the next night, out under local rural sky...  and no tripod, nor time to go get it that night.

Made the much farther drive out to public land the next day.

Where it was just sittin' , waiting, forlorn and all alone.

#6 pallikas

pallikas

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Raleigh, NC USA

Posted 07 October 2016 - 01:34 PM