•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

How to adjust the Questar finder mirror

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Optics Patent

Optics Patent

Vanguard

• topic starter
  • Loc: Dallas TX

Posted 27 November 2016 - 03:07 PM

Upon acquiring a used 3.5 Field Model, I decided to take it down and clean it up.  This involved removing the finder mirror with its plate for inspection and cleaning, and for re-brushing the mirror bracket which had gained some rust spots.  This is not the official procedure, but just one I figured out for myself.  Being a patent attorney, I rarely have the chance to write up technical explanations, so here goes:

1. Remove the glue that holds the screws in position.  This was brittle and flaked away on mine, and it picked away using the universal gentle scraper (fingernail) without trouble.  Fresher glue might require a solvent.
  2. SKIP to Step 12*** if not removing the mirror.
  3. If removing the mirror be warned that replacing it is a big pain without some kind of factory fixture I presume exists.  Don't bother removing the mirror unless you need to.
  4. Mark the mirror so you know which way is up.  Mine was offset on the plate, and there was clearly a right way to be sure it's centered on the bracket.  Guess which way I reinstalled mine the first time!
  5. Unscrew the four screws.  There is a bent rectangular leaf spring between the bracket and the mirror plate, and this will "sproing" when one of the screws comes out.  Be careful not to lose anything.