•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Curved diffraction spikes in astrophotos

astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 cvnori

cvnori

Explorer 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Ellington, CT

Posted 21 February 2017 - 10:19 PM

Hello,
I am very new to astrophotography and I had been taking some astrophotos for the last few months with my Orion 8" Newtonian Astrograph and Atlas EQ-G mount.  The camera I am using is Canon T5i non-modified.  When I take pictures that have bright stars in the field, I get diffraction spikes that are very unusual. They are not distinct crosses but cross with curved spikes.   I have attached some pictures along with this email.  Please look at them and let me know what could be wrong.
I am very confused.  I have checked the collimation and also the spider vanes and everything seems normal.  the effect is the same with and without coma corrector. Could anyone please suggest what they are and how I can get rid of them.  I am sure there is something fundamentally wrong I am doing or something I am overlooking.
Thank you,
Regards,
Chandra

M42.PNG

NGC2023.PNG

#2 Davester9

Davester9

Apollo

• Loc: San Tan Valley, Arizona

Posted 21 February 2017 - 10:32 PM

I believe your collimation is off a bit. It would appear your secondary is slightly tilted.

#3 cvnori

cvnori

Explorer 1

• topic starter

Posted 21 February 2017 - 10:47 PM

Thanks.  But I checked my collimation using a manual and laser collimators and everything seem right on.  I also have a hard time getting all the circles centered perfectly.  Actually the secondary seem to be slightly off centered but I checked some other discussion forum and they said it was normal with fast newtonians.  My scope is 8" orion astrograph with f/3.9.

#4 Davester9

Davester9

Apollo

Posted 21 February 2017 - 10:53 PM