Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Usb Hub

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Emanuel

Emanuel

    Messenger

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 471
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Maia, Portugal

Posted 16 March 2017 - 04:14 PM

Hey guys, wich type of usb hub you use to connect all your gear? I mean, i need to connect the Nikon D5300 usb cable together with the Orion SSAG cable and then connect both on a hub, and from there i have a Tether Tools long cable to connect to the laptop and stay indoors.



#2 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 441
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 16 March 2017 - 05:02 PM

I use a backward compatible USB 3 4-Port Hub that can be externally powered with 5VDC.  If the output cable is longer than 4 meters I power the hub with 5VDC.  My equipment.

 

Inputs:

  • Canon 6D / T3i
  • Orion SSAG
  • QYH PoleMaster CCD

Outputs:

  • Windows Laptop

Something like this:

https://www.amazon.c...SB 3 4-Port Hub

 

https://www.amazon.c...e/dp/B00A71CMDU


  • Emanuel likes this

#3 drew2578

drew2578

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2012
  • Loc: The Garden Isle

Posted 16 March 2017 - 05:09 PM

I like to use a USB hub that has a 12V input to keep things simple.  Most are 5V.  That way going mobile is no problem.  There are a couple Startech and Saberant models that do the job fine.


  • Emanuel likes this

#4 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 441
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 16 March 2017 - 05:19 PM

I looked and looked and couldn't find anything - 12VDC input.


Edited by Jim Waters, 16 March 2017 - 05:38 PM.


#5 jmiller1001

jmiller1001

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: 21 Mar 2016
  • Loc: Bay Area, CA

Posted 16 March 2017 - 05:46 PM

I found this one on Amazon and rewired it for 12V straight in and bypassed the supplied 120VAC to 12VDC converter.

 

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1



#6 Ranger Tim

Ranger Tim

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1150
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2008
  • Loc: SE Idaho, USA

Posted 16 March 2017 - 05:51 PM

I am glad this thread showed up. I am in the same boat and need advice on a USB Hub also. Hopefully Emanuel won't mind too terribly if I jump on his thread for a minute. Here's the deal:

 

1) What is the difference between these USB 3 plugs that have the second tier of connections and how do they terminate in the hub? Lots of the new CMOS cameras have these style connectors.

 

2) My computer has two USB 2.0 ports. Can I still buy a USB 3 hub to run my stuff? Will a USB 3.0 camera like the ASI120mm-S work okay on a USB hub going into my computer?

 

3) I know I will want a powered hub to ensure the cameras work well. I want to have the ability to eventually run a guide cam, CMOS DSO cam, probably an electronic filter wheel, and my telescope control. How much power will I need for the hub to provide?


  • Emanuel likes this

#7 jmiller1001

jmiller1001

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: 21 Mar 2016
  • Loc: Bay Area, CA

Posted 16 March 2017 - 06:01 PM

To answer your questions:

 

Power into the port is 12VDC

 

The USB Hub as 7 ports:  4 of the ports are full USB 3.0 ports supporting data and power (5VDC).  3 of the ports only carry USB 3 Power 5V/2.4VDC (max).  

 

The USB output is through a standard USB port (same as the input side for data)

 

USB 3.0 is backward compatible to 2.0.

 

Question 3 - not sure, but I have same setup and I need to test it - I plan to run my camera, filter wheel and guidecam off of this hub and run a separate power run for my mount/control.


  • Emanuel likes this

#8 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 441
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 16 March 2017 - 06:08 PM

I found this one on Amazon and rewired it for 12V straight in and bypassed the supplied 120VAC to 12VDC converter.

 

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I was looking for a 3 or 4 port USB 3 Hub with 12VDC input.  When I looked a year ago I couldn't find anything. If anybody has anything please post the link.  This may be too large for many users.



#9 drew2578

drew2578

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2012
  • Loc: The Garden Isle

Posted 16 March 2017 - 06:44 PM

I recently got this one : https://www.amazon.c...s=sabrent usb 7

 

Its a 7 port hub with 2 charging ports.  Its also very compact.

 

I use 5 of the seven ports for peripherals and the charging ports to power/charge my Compute Stick/RaspberryPi and phone wink.gif

 

It also comes with 4A AC power adapter for use when AC is more readily available.  I only use DC regardless though.


Edited by drew2578, 16 March 2017 - 06:46 PM.

  • Emanuel and gfstallin like this

#10 RedLionNJ

RedLionNJ

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1692
  • Joined: 29 Dec 2009
  • Loc: Red Lion, NJ, USA

Posted 16 March 2017 - 06:46 PM

 

I found this one on Amazon and rewired it for 12V straight in and bypassed the supplied 120VAC to 12VDC converter.

 

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I was looking for a 3 or 4 port USB 3 Hub with 12VDC input.  When I looked a year ago I couldn't find anything. If anybody has anything please post the link.  This may be too large for many users.

 

Something like:

 

https://www.amazon.c...89707824&sr=8-1

 

?



#11 Emanuel

Emanuel

    Messenger

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 471
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Maia, Portugal

Posted 16 March 2017 - 06:47 PM

Thanks for the replays guys. Of course i dont mind Tim, all questions are good and usefull.

I was wndering if a hub without external power is a solution or not, simply connected to the laptop, or to work as it should is always necessary to be powered up by an external source?



#12 drew2578

drew2578

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2012
  • Loc: The Garden Isle

Posted 16 March 2017 - 06:56 PM

Always recommend powering if using anything other than a mouse and keyboard.  SSAG users have reported issues in the past with non-powered hubs.


  • Jim Waters and Emanuel like this

#13 drew2578

drew2578

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2012
  • Loc: The Garden Isle

Posted 16 March 2017 - 07:02 PM

Also to add is the USB cable wire gauges as denoted on the cables.  If possible, your longer cables should have something like "+24/2C" on them.  This would indicate the wire used power is of a larger diameter which would lessen any voltage/current drop.


  • Jim Waters and Emanuel like this

#14 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 441
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 16 March 2017 - 07:03 PM

Without external power I wouldn't use a cable over 3 maybe 4 meters max. 

 

Thanks for the replays guys. Of course i dont mind Tim, all questions are good and usefull.

I was wndering if a hub without external power is a solution or not, simply connected to the laptop, or to work as it should is always necessary to be powered up by an external source?


Edited by Jim Waters, 16 March 2017 - 07:06 PM.

  • Emanuel likes this

#15 drew2578

drew2578

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: 21 Dec 2012
  • Loc: The Garden Isle

Posted 16 March 2017 - 07:04 PM

Thanks for the replays guys. Of course i dont mind Tim, all questions are good and usefull.

I was wndering if a hub without external power is a solution or not, simply connected to the laptop, or to work as it should is always necessary to be powered up by an external source?

You can check what the current draw is per port using the device manager.


  • Emanuel likes this

#16 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 441
  • Joined: 21 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ

Posted 16 March 2017 - 07:05 PM

Yes - SSAG require power from the USB Hub.  Not sure about the camera's.  Best to use a powered Hub.

Always recommend powering if using anything other than a mouse and keyboard.  SSAG users have reported issues in the past with non-powered hubs.


  • Emanuel likes this

#17 Emanuel

Emanuel

    Messenger

  • -----
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 471
  • Joined: 30 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Maia, Portugal

Posted 16 March 2017 - 07:56 PM

Hmmmm, i see. My Tether Tools usb cable is 5m long, and despite having a data extension cable connection, i guess is still a risk not to have it powered up. I will try as soon as i have the chance...



#18 baron555

baron555

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1593
  • Joined: 27 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Lockport, IL

Posted 16 March 2017 - 08:44 PM

Anker powered USB 3.0 hub


  • Emanuel likes this

#19 bmhjr

bmhjr

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 484
  • Joined: 02 Oct 2015
  • Loc: Colorado

Posted 16 March 2017 - 09:34 PM

 

I found this one on Amazon and rewired it for 12V straight in and bypassed the supplied 120VAC to 12VDC converter.

 

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I was looking for a 3 or 4 port USB 3 Hub with 12VDC input.  When I looked a year ago I couldn't find anything. If anybody has anything please post the link.  This may be too large for many users.

 

 

I use this one.  It's pricey, but made to endure the elements.  Your situation may not apply

 

https://www.amazon.c...6HiL&ref=plSrch


  • Emanuel likes this

#20 Phil Sherman

Phil Sherman

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2319
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 18 March 2017 - 03:25 AM

I use a pair of Targus externally powered (5V) hubs at the scope that feeds a single port Icron Ranger for the longer run back to the computer. I could use USB active extension cables but if I did, I'd have USB connections underground in conduits, something I desperately wanted to avoid. The 5V power for the hubs comes from a DC-DC buck regulator that's connected to the 12V feed line that powers the mount and camera. I use the same arrangement on my remote observatory mount and my "keep with me" portable system. The only difference is that the portable one uses USB extension cables in place of the Icron Ranger.


  • Emanuel likes this

#21 fishonkevin

fishonkevin

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1846
  • Joined: 29 Apr 2007
  • Loc: Michigan

Posted 19 March 2017 - 12:12 PM

Here is a 12vdc hub. https://www.amazon.c...d=IDG5GVB7HCJEW


  • Emanuel likes this

#22 szg

szg

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: 23 May 2015
  • Loc: Bangkok, Thailand

Posted 20 March 2017 - 09:24 AM

I use Transcend usb 3 hub. Few bucks, tiny and pretty work well.

Purchase this USB hub for temporary use but then I found no issue with it and keep using it until now.

 

My hub occupied by Nikon D5500, Autoguide and USB2-to-RS232 adapter for AVX interface. No issue so far and I would purchase a better hub only when I moved to USB3 CCD.


  • Emanuel likes this

#23 jmiller1001

jmiller1001

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: 21 Mar 2016
  • Loc: Bay Area, CA

Posted 16 April 2017 - 09:45 PM

BTW, I had my rig out imaging last weekend and tit work great.


  • Emanuel likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.







Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics