•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ZWO ASI071MC-Cool Color Issues

astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 tjones84

tjones84

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: St. Catharines, Ontario

Posted 20 March 2017 - 08:44 AM

Hi all,

I am very new to CCD-style imaging, and I am using the new ASI071MC-Cool (Color) camera with the Sony IMX071 sensor.

Coming from a DSLR background, terms like Gain, Offset, ADU and debayering are new to me.

The issue I am having is the color balance of my stacked images coming out of DeepSkyStacker.

I have set the RAW/FITS Settings to the bayer pattern listed by the camera (In SGP settings):  RGGB.

There was a previous thread about GBRG being the correct bayer pattern to use, but in my tests that was not the case.

The GBRG stack came out extremely purple and could not be corrected. (Skip to end of video)

The RGGB bayer pattern seems to work best, but the final image color is off.  It has a greenish cast and is generally pale.  Is not possilbe to balance the levels in PS afterwards either.

Notes: I am shooting in (red zone) with no filters. Darks only, no flats or bias.  (Still learning how to use the camera, and do not own filters)

I am using SGP for image acquisition using a various exposure lengths and Gain/Offset values.  The camera was not cooled - as I do not have an external power source for the camera yet, but was used in -1 degree C weather.

I understand that I can improve the data immensely by using a LP filter and adding flats, but I feel like the color issue is something different.

If anyone has any experience with the ASI071MC-Cool (Color) I would greatly appreciate your input!  I am happy to elaborate on any details if it helps diagnose the issue.

Attached is the best I could process out of the data aquired. 

#2 tjones84

tjones84

Sputnik