•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Green Laser Pointer help

accessories
This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
32 replies to this topic

#1 N0vice8stronomer

N0vice8stronomer

Lift Off

• topic starter

Posted 04 April 2017 - 02:46 PM

Hello!  Although I've been doing this for a few years, now, I'm still very much a beginner, especially when it comes to this topic, so I'm posting this here...

I'm looking for information and a recommendation for a laser pointer - can someone help? 

I got a green pointer a while ago, but it took weird, blue batteries, and they didn't work more than, dunno, one or two times.  Didn't work at all in the cold.  Paid $20 for it.  Then I found it may have been more than 5 mW, which I've since found out is not good.  Got it on E-Bay, can't find the mfg./seller's info., so!  Starting from square one again.  I've done some research and this is what I've come up with that I THINK I need:

- green, 5 mW, class 3(a?) pointer   (seen some that say 3-5 mW, but I'd like the five)

- something that you've used and works well, plus works in the cold. (New England kind of cold, that is!)

- takes lithium batteries (said to work better in the cold)

- Can something that ordinarily takes alkaline batteries take lithium also?  I've seen a lot that do take regular alkaline.

- Something made in the USA, or, if none, at least the distributor gives their contact info. and they will work with the distributor on any issues.

- It would be nice if it had a switch on/off (versus push button), as a couple of times when using the one I had, the push button would accidentally be pushed in my pocket or even in my hand.  

- I think that's it!

Thanks so much!  Terry

#2 Garyth64

Garyth64

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 04 April 2017 - 03:09 PM