•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Large telescopes and Jupiter

• Please log in to reply
60 replies to this topic

#1 JoeBlow

JoeBlow

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Australia

Posted 19 April 2017 - 08:28 AM

I've been doing astronomy on and off for many years now, but its only been the past 2 years that I have taken a serous interest in observing planets, something I now regret. Though I had larger telescopes in the past, I currently only have an 8" newt. During nights of very good to excellent seeing I have been really impressed with what an 8" can show me; multiple cloud bands, complex detail in the NEB and SEB, some colour especially in the GRS, festoons, barges, white ovals, moons resolved as discs of different sizes and colours, and more details than you can sketch.

My question is what can a larger telescope show me on Jupiter during nights of typically good seeing that an 8" usually can't do? I'm interested as I plan to acquire a larger telescope in the next year or so (maybe a 14"), but plan to keep my 8" as a "grab and go".

Thanks,

Joe 

Edited by JoeBlow, 19 April 2017 - 08:31 AM.

• Rollo likes this

#2 Special Ed

Special Ed

Cosmos

• Loc: Greenbrier County, WV 38N, 80W

Posted 19 April 2017 - 08:52 AM

Joe,

Well, you'll get better resolution (but only when the seeing allows) and better color--at least I did.  I used an 8" SCT for years on Jupiter before I got the C14.  I can perceive colors now that I couldn't before.

• JoeBlow, Illinois, CounterWeight and 1 other like this

#3 Gipht

Gipht

Apollo

• Loc: Prescott Valley, AZ.

Posted 19 April 2017 - 09:35 AM

Joe,