Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

KStars 2.7.7 is released for Windows, Mac, and Linux

  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#51 brave_ulysses

brave_ulysses

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,416
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2009
  • Loc: far outside the wire

Posted 15 September 2017 - 08:00 PM

jasem, you are right - the device names are swapped. i edited USBAUTO="false" in gpsd.conf and restarted gpsd; so far, so good


  • knro likes this

#52 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 23 September 2017 - 03:15 AM

Today KStars 2.8.4 "Juli" is out with several bugfixes and enhancements:

 

http://knro.blogspot...s-released.html

 

Download it for Windows, MacOS, and Linux.

 

Of interest to astrophotographer is that KStars now fully supports rotators with Ekos. Rotater your FOV box to match the way you want to see your target and Ekos will rotate the camera until it matches the target. Another awesome feature is load & slew with rotator support, how? Suppose you found any image online and you'd like to capture it exactly as is, i.e. with even the same orientation. Just load it up in Ekos, and not only Ekos will solve and slew to the image center, but it will also rotate your camera to match the orientation of the image!

 

This is just one among one of the many features of Ekos!

 

ekos_capture_rotator.png


Edited by knro, 23 September 2017 - 03:15 AM.

  • psandelle, brave_ulysses, bsavoie and 1 other like this

#53 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 05 October 2017 - 02:43 AM

KStars 2.8.5 is now released with a couple of new features and more bug-fixes.

 

Ekos now includes a more complete Filter Manager to manage filter focus offsets, autofocus behavior, and filter locking options. Automatic Meridian Flip has been enhanced now to be a lot more resilient to any transient failures and works quite reliably now. Last week, I took over 20 hours worth of data and at each night the meridian flip process worked flawlessly!

 

kstars_filter_manager.png


  • brave_ulysses and bsavoie like this

#54 obrazell

obrazell

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 549
  • Joined: 03 Apr 2005
  • Loc: United Kingdom

Posted 05 October 2017 - 10:31 AM

I think you need to check your download page as it does nto seem to work.

 

Owen



#55 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 05 October 2017 - 11:10 AM

I think you need to check your download page as it does nto seem to work.

 

Owen

 

Thanks Windows download link fixed.



#56 brave_ulysses

brave_ulysses

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,416
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2009
  • Loc: far outside the wire

Posted 08 October 2017 - 12:26 AM

what is a usual cpu utilisation? while streaming, this seems high...

 

this is on a z420 with 16 gig memory running 2.8.4 kstars with gpsd, eqmod and asi (1600mmc) drivers

 

 

root@uatu:~# lscpu
Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                8
On-line CPU(s) list:   0-7
Thread(s) per core:    2
Core(s) per socket:    4
Socket(s):             1
NUMA node(s):          1
Vendor ID:             GenuineIntel
CPU family:            6
Model:                 45
Model name:            Intel® Xeon® CPU E5-1620 0 @ 3.60GHz
Stepping:              7
CPU MHz:               3600.000
CPU max MHz:           3800.0000
CPU min MHz:           1200.0000
BogoMIPS:              7181.98
Virtualization:        VT-x
L1d cache:             32K
L1i cache:             32K
L2 cache:              256K
L3 cache:              10240K
NUMA node0 CPU(s):     0-7
Flags:                 fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf eagerfpu pni pclmulqdq dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm pcid dca sse4_1 sse4_2 x2apic popcnt tsc_deadline_timer aes xsave avx lahf_lm epb tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid xsaveopt dtherm arat pln pts
root@uatu:~#

Attached Thumbnails

  • uatu.png

Edited by brave_ulysses, 08 October 2017 - 12:28 AM.


#57 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 08 October 2017 - 12:34 AM

This is too high.. I run my complete observatory on StellarMate (Though KStars on my desktop) and I get only 5% and maybe sometimes 10% CPU utilization. Do you have logging turned on?



#58 brave_ulysses

brave_ulysses

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,416
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2009
  • Loc: far outside the wire

Posted 08 October 2017 - 02:13 AM

looks like i was starting 2 instances of indiserver and the drivers. one was started in rc.local; when starting indi from ekos, i get this:

 

Ekos detected an instance of INDI server running. Do you wish to shut down the existing instance before starting a

new one?

 

and answered yes. what is the correct way to have indi start on boot and then access remotely?

 

thanks


Edited by brave_ulysses, 08 October 2017 - 02:58 AM.


#59 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 08 October 2017 - 03:36 AM

The profile was set to remote?



#60 brave_ulysses

brave_ulysses

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,416
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2009
  • Loc: far outside the wire

Posted 08 October 2017 - 10:20 AM

i have tried it both ways

 

this works ok:

indiserver not running

ssh to observatory box from mancave

launch kstars/ekos

start indi in local mode

control mount / capture images

 

this did not work:

start indiserver on observatory box at boot with gpsd/eqmod/asi_ccd drivers

ssh to observatory box from mancave

launch kstars/ekos

start indi in remote mode (connect to localhost:7624)

control mount / capture images

 

this is what i want to do:

start indiserver at boot on observatory box with gpsd/eqmod/asi_ccd drivers

launch kstars/ekos from mancave computer

start indi in remote mode

control mount /capture images

 

this is in rc.local on the observatory box:

mkfifo /tmp/indi_fifo
/usr/bin/indiserver -v -p 7624 -m 100 -f /tmp/indi_fifo &
sleep 5

#/usr/bin/indiserver -v -p 7624 -m 100 indi_eqmod_telescope indi_asi_ccd indi_gpsd

echo "start indi_eqmod_telescope -n 'hdx110'"     > /tmp/indi_fifo
echo "start indi_asi_ccd         -n 'asi1600mmc'" > /tmp/indi_fifo
echo "start indi_gpsd            -n 'gps'"        > /tmp/indi_fifo

 

hope this makes sense

 

thanks



#61 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 08 October 2017 - 12:10 PM

No need to use rc.local, install INDI Web Manager on the RPI3 and then just use Ekos on 'mancave' to start the remote profile (make sure to check INDI Web Manager). In the INDI Web Manager, you can check Auto Start if you want the driver to run on boot.


Edited by knro, 08 October 2017 - 12:10 PM.


#62 brave_ulysses

brave_ulysses

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1,416
  • Joined: 19 Apr 2009
  • Loc: far outside the wire

Posted 08 October 2017 - 05:24 PM

thanks. i'll give indi-web a try



#63 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 31 October 2017 - 01:45 AM

KStars 2.8.7 is now available for Windows, MacOS, and Linux! For more details, check my blog post here:

 

http://knro.blogspot...7-released.html

 

Improvements include better GPS support, DSLR fixes, and sound notifications for all platforms.


  • Guest7564635 and bsavoie like this

#64 Dave Ittner

Dave Ittner

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 432
  • Joined: 29 May 2012
  • Loc: SF Bay Area, California

Posted 03 November 2017 - 03:52 PM

Where can I find the post about how to fix the HiDPI issue?

have a 4K monitor and all of the icons are super tiny when starting up KStars



#65 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 03 November 2017 - 04:18 PM

I don't have a 4K monitor ...yet so I can't test. I guess you can right click on the toolbar and select "Huge" icon size (48x48) maybe they will look better on HiDPI monitor.



#66 Dave Ittner

Dave Ittner

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 432
  • Joined: 29 May 2012
  • Loc: SF Bay Area, California

Posted 03 November 2017 - 04:28 PM

thanks but it only helped a bit.

 

The opening view is an all sky view that is a tiny little globe about 3 inches across in the window.

Don't see how to make it larger.   This is another issue with the HiDPI aspect of a 4K monitor.

Have seen this with other software packages. 



#67 Tommy

Tommy

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 277
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Milky Way

Posted 15 November 2017 - 05:49 AM

Hi,

 

I have 3 requests for Windows version of kstars or EKOS. Hope it can be done.

 

1. Be able to do offline solvers rather than going into internet.

2. An option to bypass Automatically Save Images after capture in EKOS. 

3. Add an option to use Serial port triggers via the RTS data line functions for other cameras such as Pentax which 2.5mm shutter release port still use-able.

 

Regards,
Tom



#68 CHAPSKINS

CHAPSKINS

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 344
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2013

Posted 19 November 2017 - 02:30 PM

Your OSX DMG link doesn't work.

 

.



#69 Ron359

Ron359

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,534
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2008

Posted 19 November 2017 - 03:36 PM

Under Feature Devices - Custom - you list Mel Bartels as compatible.   But Mel Bartels has not offered or supported his DOS based telescope drive software for a number of years.  It has been 'taken over' by Sidereal Technology which has their own Win only compatible controllers and software.  Is KStars for Mac compatible with that?  http://www.siderealtechnology.com

 

Also - your link to download the Mac dmg. goes to nothing.  



#70 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 19 November 2017 - 05:04 PM

The DMG link is back online again (v2.8.8). Regarding SiTech, it is currently not supported in INDI. A driver needs to be developed for it. Perhaps you can ask SiTech to develop an INDI driver?



#71 Ron359

Ron359

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1,534
  • Joined: 21 Apr 2008

Posted 19 November 2017 - 06:01 PM

The DMG link is back online again (v2.8.8). Regarding SiTech, it is currently not supported in INDI. A driver needs to be developed for it. Perhaps you can ask SiTech to develop an INDI driver?

they were working on a Linux version, haven't heard anything about it lately.  



#72 CHAPSKINS

CHAPSKINS

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 344
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2013

Posted 25 November 2017 - 06:30 AM

Many thanks for fixing the OSX link :)

 

I'm very impressed after taking a quick look around the application. At last, planning and execution in-app on the Mac without writing lines of script... Yay :)

 

Thank you for the very hard work that has gone into this shared project. You're a credit to the astronomy community :)

 

.


  • bsavoie likes this

#73 drmikevt

drmikevt

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 869
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2015
  • Loc: Burlington, VT

Posted 03 December 2017 - 01:30 PM

Can someone please tell me if the following is possible using Kstars/Ekos on the Mac?:

 - Control my Paramount (this is my biggest question)

 - Control an SX-AO unit (second biggest question)

 - Control a QSI and LodestarX2

 - And, I'm pretty sure that there is good INDI support for the Moonlite Nightcrawler

 

Mostly, I'm interested in a solution to use an SX-AO on my Mac with dithering support of the Paramount.  I can use the SX-AO with PHD, but then there is no dithering with TSX.

 

Any input on the hardware above would be greatly appreciated.  

 

Thanks



#74 knro

knro

    StellarMate

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 168
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Kuwait

Posted 03 December 2017 - 02:08 PM

Can someone please tell me if the following is possible using Kstars/Ekos on the Mac?:

 - Control my Paramount (this is my biggest question)

 - Control an SX-AO unit (second biggest question)

 - Control a QSI and LodestarX2

 - And, I'm pretty sure that there is good INDI support for the Moonlite Nightcrawler

 

Mostly, I'm interested in a solution to use an SX-AO on my Mac with dithering support of the Paramount.  I can use the SX-AO with PHD, but then there is no dithering with TSX.

 

Any input on the hardware above would be greatly appreciated.  

 

Thanks

1. Yes, but via the TheSkyX server. Direct control is not possible because there is no way to 3rd party apps to communicate with it unless it goes TheSkyX server.

2. Yes, there is a driver for SX-AO, but there is no support for it in KStars along regular guiders. That is, while you can control it, Ekos internal guider does not switch between the regular guider and AO. I wrote something for it _long_ ago but never tested it.

3. Yes, fully supported, I have them both!

 

I think best chances is to use Ekos with PHD2 guiding, and Ekos can ask PHD2 to dither or dither the mount directly. I will ask PHD2 developers if they can communicate with INDI SX-AO driver. If that's the case, then all should be set.



#75 drmikevt

drmikevt

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 869
  • Joined: 22 Jun 2015
  • Loc: Burlington, VT

Posted 03 December 2017 - 08:57 PM

Thank you - this is now a very similar set up to ASCOM.  If I'm understanding, Ekos will use TSX to control the mount and will also use PHD2 to guide, give dither instructions, and control the AO.  Ekos will coordinate the 3 programs and the imaging run....?

 

If PHD2 is controlling the AO and the guider (I am pretty sure it control both natively), what does it matter if it can use the SX INDI driver?  

 

Thank you for all of this - its very exciting to have such significant new Mac astro-abilities.  




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics