•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Personal Introduction and Evolution 9.25 Observations

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 parebal0

parebal0

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Alpharetta, GA

Posted 19 May 2017 - 06:48 PM

Greetings all..

Just a brief introduction of myself, and some general observations, yes, pun intended, about my new 9.25 Evolution. 

I have been observing the skies since I was 13, and still can feel the chill up my spine upon my first viewing of Saturn through my 60mm, Sears refractor.....I was throughly hooked.  I graduated to a Tasco, 60mm, equatorial mount, refractor purchased in the Cave Optical store in LA.  That should date me sufficiently. 😊.  Moving onward for to 1976, and I purchase the scope of my dreams, the 89mm Questar.  I have had many wonderful nights with it at Fremont Peak, in California, and as a primarily visual observer, found it to be a most adequate scope for most of my life.  (Felt pretty inadequate after scaling John Dobson's 10 foot ladder to look through his mega light bucket atop Fremont Peak!)  With the Questar reference, maybe some old time observers from Fremont Peak will remember me.  Yes, I still own the Questar, and cherish all the wonderful celestial memories it has given me.

So, fast forward to Tuesday of this week and my newly delivered Evo 9.25.  Living in Atlanta for the past 20 years has presented its observational challenges to me, but it was time to make the jump to light speed, and my "need" for the scope's technology. 

First, let me thank everyone on this particular forum for all your insight and recommendations.  I have been comparing manufacturers and scope sizes for the past month, and have found this forum to be incredibly helpful.