•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Fine tuning PHD guide settings

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 jtrezzo

jtrezzo

Messenger

• topic starter
  • Loc: St. Petersburg, FL

Posted 19 June 2017 - 06:55 PM

I have been working on getting my guiding better, not to much avail really. My RMS is hovering around 1.25" total on my last session with my Atlas Pro and AT106LE. Ideally I'd like to get that under 1" at least. I have noticed that the noise is very bad on my guiding image. Is the 2x2 noise reduction worth using? I may try redoing the dark frames for it also. I have the gain set to about 80, and as I understand it shouldn't have to mess with offset for guiding. I believe I am balancing well and I have a Polemaster for polar alignment so it should be spot on. I have set tried varying settings with the aggressiveness and am looking into using the PEC on EQMOD next time out, I finally figured out how to get that to show up on the interface. Not entirely sure what guide rate to use on it either, I am guessing 0.5x sidereal should be fine?

Any good settings for the Atlas Pro would be appreciated - something to try and start on then fine tune the next time I get the chance to go out.

#2 xiando

xiando

Aurora

• Loc: Cloudy NEOhio

Posted 19 June 2017 - 07:05 PM

Filtering can help damp transient effects in a controller. I'd suggest you try it and see if it helps you.

#3 mistateo

mistateo

Viking 1

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 19 June 2017 - 07:18 PM