•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Original Tele-Vue Renaissance Brass Telescope

beginner accessories
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 mpryzgo

mpryzgo

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 July 2017 - 09:48 AM

Hi, I have an original 1985 Tele Vue Renaissance Brass Telescope model 4400065.  I am new to this so I am not sure if it is worth while to purchase all of the pieces needed to make the telescope functional.  As far as I can tell it is missing a mount, a diagonal, and eyepieces.  I do have the main tube (Brass), the Case (Light Brown Plastic with cut foam interior), and the original tripod. I am hoping to get some advise on how much it will cost to get it functioning. While I understand that this is a high quality scope the requires quality accessories, I need to keep the cost reasonable.  If it is too expensive I might just list it in the classified.

Attached Thumbnails

• IMG_1648.JPG
  • IMG_1647.JPG
  • IMG_1649.JPG

• 25585 and Astroman007 like this

#2 aneeg

aneeg

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Nesodden, Norway

Posted 19 July 2017 - 11:08 AM

It depends on your interest in astronomy. If you are seriuos into it, then this is simply put a great scope. I would advice you to buy reasonably priced accessories at first, then gradually upgrade to TV original parts later.

Arne

• 25585 likes this

#3 HarryRik9

HarryRik9

Viking 1

• Loc: Virginia

Posted 19 July 2017 - 11:08 AM