Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Introducing StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget

astrophotography imaging planetarium software
  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

#26 Megiddo

Megiddo

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2017

Posted 06 August 2019 - 09:56 PM

Two questions:

 

1. Can I do EAA with this unit?

 

2. Does it support the Celestron Autofocus?

 

EAA?   Not sure what that is.

Celestron Autofocuser...  I'm not sure if it's ready (some have posted that it is), but here is the thread:  https://indilib.org/...n-ekos-yet.html



#27 Don W

Don W

    demi-god

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 23251
  • Joined: 19 May 2003
  • Loc: Wisconsin, USA

Posted 06 August 2019 - 10:02 PM

EAA = Electronically Assisted Astronomy. Taking a series of short images and stacking them in near real time.

 

https://www.cloudyni...ost-processing/



#28 Megiddo

Megiddo

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2017

Posted 07 August 2019 - 09:58 PM

EAA = Electronically Assisted Astronomy. Taking a series of short images and stacking them in near real time.

 

https://www.cloudyni...ost-processing/

I would say no.   You take your photos in the CCD Module, then I stack them in Deep Sky Stacker (or the like) and go from there.

 

(CCD is used through-out, but includes DLSR's)   In my opinion it should be called Camera, but I guess when this was developed they all had CCD cameras.   I use a Canon 600D.



#29 Nicole Sharp

Nicole Sharp

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1508
  • Joined: 12 Jun 2018
  • Loc: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

Posted 11 August 2019 - 01:31 AM

Can the StellarMate be used for Solar, Lunar, and planetary imaging with a USB 3 astrowebcam (e.g. ZWO, QHY, Meade, or Altair) and a Google Android 9 device?  I know the USB 2 port would limit the bandwidth, but what would be the limitations?

 

Can the StellarMate with a Google Android 9 device record both video and images directly to an SD card without needing a laptop??  Could it support 1080p30 or 720p60 if not 1080p60?

 

I basically would like to be able to use the StellarMate with an Android smartphone as a replacement for a laptop.

 

Can the StellarMate with a Google Android 9 device support simultaneous imaging and autoguiding from two USB 3 cameras?


Edited by Nicole Sharp, 11 August 2019 - 01:35 AM.


#30 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2016
  • Loc: Houston

Posted 12 August 2019 - 02:14 PM

It only supports USB2 since it’s a Raspberry Pi unit. You’ll find that for high transfer rates required to get the fastest FPS capture planetary images, it will be too slow. With DSO imaging, you have a minute plus for capturing to allow the frames to download to the unit so size of frame is no issue there.



#31 Phil Cowell

Phil Cowell

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5984
  • Joined: 24 May 2007
  • Loc: Southern Tier NY

Posted 01 September 2019 - 10:38 PM

It only supports USB2 since it’s a Raspberry Pi unit. You’ll find that for high transfer rates required to get the fastest FPS capture planetary images, it will be too slow. With DSO imaging, you have a minute plus for capturing to allow the frames to download to the unit so size of frame is no issue there.

The pi 4 has 2 X USB 3 including C for power.

https://www.tomshard...i-4-b,6193.html

 

 


Edited by Phil Cowell, 01 September 2019 - 10:42 PM.


#32 Megiddo

Megiddo

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 133
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2017

Posted 02 September 2019 - 07:06 AM

And the RPi4 can have up to 4GB of on-board memory (the one I have) s the 1GB for the RPi3.



#33 JayS_CT

JayS_CT

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2018
  • Loc: Connecticut

Posted 02 September 2019 - 08:51 AM

Is there a camera/filter wheel, etc. list for Stellarmate?  Aside from the USB 3 discussion..  I have both CCD (Starlight Xpress) and CMOS (ASI) cameras and FWs? Looking for one solution to handle all..

Thanks..

Jay S.



#34 Phil Cowell

Phil Cowell

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5984
  • Joined: 24 May 2007
  • Loc: Southern Tier NY

Posted 07 September 2019 - 06:47 AM

And the RPi4 can have up to 4GB of on-board memory (the one I have) s the 1GB for the RPi3.

That’s what I’m running.



#35 khobar

khobar

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 310
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2008

Posted 13 September 2019 - 02:12 PM

Please pardon me for being a newb and asking here, but I don't know where else really to turn.

 

I received my pi4 4GB yesterday and have it up and running in "simulation" mode. I access kstars via VNC on my Asus Android tablet, but I cannot figure out how to hide < Back and VNC "header" on screen for lack of a better term, or the "Connect Ekos Device Cloud Settings About" block near the bottom or the Android navigation (triangle, circle, square) below that. Kstars is squished in between.

 

-EDIT-

Simple answer: don't use the tablet, or use VNC through a web browser that can then be set to full-screen.


Edited by khobar, 14 September 2019 - 09:52 AM.


#36 Foobaria

Foobaria

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2017
  • Loc: New Mexico, USA

Posted 26 September 2019 - 02:57 PM

How do you connect and control a DSLR like a Nikon 3200 with this device? 



#37 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2016
  • Loc: Houston

Posted 26 September 2019 - 04:22 PM

How do you connect and control a DSLR like a Nikon 3200 with this device? 

Tethered to the USB port of the device.



#38 Foobaria

Foobaria

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2017
  • Loc: New Mexico, USA

Posted 26 September 2019 - 07:18 PM

You're saying you connect the camera to the mount? 



#39 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2016
  • Loc: Houston

Posted 26 September 2019 - 10:02 PM

You're saying you connect the camera to the mount? 

You connect both the mount and camera to the StellarMate USB ports. It has 4 of them. If you need more, you can connect them to a hub, then to the stellarmate.



#40 Foobaria

Foobaria

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2017
  • Loc: New Mexico, USA

Posted 27 September 2019 - 08:56 AM

And you can get a cable to go from a DSLR like a 3200 to this device? 



#41 Lead_Weight

Lead_Weight

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 942
  • Joined: 21 Jul 2016
  • Loc: Houston

Posted 27 September 2019 - 01:54 PM

And you can get a cable to go from a DSLR like a 3200 to this device? 

Most DSLR's come with a USB cable so that you can download photos to a computer. That is also typically the same cable and plug you use to control it (tether) from a cable. I would consult the manual if you have any questions about how to tether it to a computer using its USB port.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: astrophotography, imaging, planetarium software



Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics