•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Solar Eclipse Maestro

• Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#1 rainycityastro

rainycityastro

Apollo

• topic starter
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 25 July 2017 - 08:20 PM

I started playing with SEM while my serial cable -> shutter release adapter from Hap Griffin is still in transit.

I really like the UI of this program -- a bit more intuitive than Eclipse Orchestrator. 

However I am running into all kinds of basic difficulties.

1. I am unable to configure basic things like simulated time: second contact. This setting is greyed out.

2. No mirror lock up setting. The manual makes a lot of noise about using a fast card for performance but I dont see much point shooting at 3+ FPS when MLU is not supported. I definitely want MLU for the long subs. It also doesn't seem to be able to utilize a serial-> USB cable in addition to the USB cable.

3. I dont see any way of configuring photography of specific phenomena in the wizard such as Baileys beads. Many of these settings are greyed out.

Is there a paid version of this software that allows unfettered use of this software? How does this compare functionality wise with EO? 

First impressions: I am somewhat underwhelmed.

Regards,

--Ram

#2 Jerry Lodriguss

Jerry Lodriguss

Vendor

• Vendors
  • Loc: Voorhees, NJ

Posted 25 July 2017 - 09:24 PM

I started playing with SEM while my serial cable -> shutter release adapter from Hap Griffin is still in transit.

I really like the UI of this program -- a bit more intuitive than Eclipse Orchestrator. 

However I am running into all kinds of basic difficulties.

1. I am unable to configure basic things like simulated time: second contact. This setting is greyed out.